Skip navigation to main content Text version | Accessibility help Friday 24 November 2017
Medway Council Logo - Takes you to the Council home page
Search CityArk
Home | About Medway archives | Search - Explorer Query Tool | Java Query Tool | Map Search | Text Only
You are here: Medway Council > CityArk > Home > Query > Results
Your query generated 17 results (Page 1 of 1)

Result number 1 - Please quote Reference: 08_MEDWAY_COUNCIL_MTC_MR_SERIES/MTC_MR_010 on request slip.

Path: Accessions/ 08_MEDWAY_COUNCIL_MTC_MR_SERIES/ MTC_MR_010.html

Medway Council,  records transferred from departments of the newly created unitary authority chiefly comprising records of the former Gillingham Borough Council.

National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act 1949: Part IV Survey of Public Rights of Way, 1 folder c.1949
National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act 1949: Part IV Survey of Public Rights of Way, modifications of draft map, statement of objections and provisional statement 1952;
Maps referred to in the Kent Review Order 1934: Map No.5, supplied by W.L. Platts, Clerk of Kent County Council, 1934, 1 item, paper on cloth
provisional public footpaths maps for Gillingham, Rochester and Chatham 1952;
OS map of New Brompton and District of St. Mark, showing St. Mary’s Island, Dockyard extensions and Convict Prison 1856;
plan of Gillingham Park c.1902-c.1906 also showing site of infectious diseases hospital;
Town Planning Scheme OS map 1906 edition 6”: I mile annotated c.1950[?];
6”: 1 mile OS map 1899 edition showing streets affected by Gillingham Electric Light Order 1902;
OS maps showing sewer mains or connections and Wigmore estate; OS map denoting land exchanged between Gillingham BC and Hollingbourne Rural District Council after 1910;
OS maps showing Joint Sewerage Committee mains around Medway Towns;
roll of plans of Bourne and Hillier’s dairies 1940s-1950s; of Lidsing [cf. Lydsing];
sets of original 1:2500 OS maps Gillingham and contiguous areas and facsimile 25” : 1 mile OS maps of same, all 1908 or 1909 editions;
plans of Embassy Cinema, Gardiner Street, Gillingham, 1936 (10 items); plans of Gillingham County School for Boys (Robert Napier Secondary School), Third Avenue, Gillingham 1922-1932 (8 items);
plan of Hoath Estate, Gillingham 1938 (No. 6876);
plans of Courtfield Estate/Castlemaine Avenue/Vineries 1934-1935 (Nos. 5012, 5242, 5243, 5244, 5598, 5620, 6876) (11 items);
14 houses Third Avenue, Gillingham c1930s;
plans of Seaview Estate, Gillingham 1939 (Nos. 7095, 7096, 7097, 7099) (12 items);
plans of Cumberland Estate 1937 (2 items);
plans of Dock Road/Wood Street, Brompton Improvements A231 1955;
plans of 36 houses, off London Road, Rainham 1931;
plans of Gillingham Public Library, High Street, Gillingham 1936;
plans of Swimming Bath, Paddling Pool and Boating Pool, Strand, Gillingham 1934-1936;
plans of Fire Station, Convenience and Lock-up shop, Canterbury Street/Rock Avenue, Gillingham 1910;
plan of proposed access road, Gordon Barracks Industrial Site, Hoath Way, Gillingham c1980;
plans of Rainham Mark Building Estate and London Road estate, Rainham c.1910 (3 items);
6”: 1 mile OS map 1909/1932 revision showing Gillingham boundaries and altertions 1903-1934;
roll of Wigmore land use and occupiers plans 1963 (2 items);
roll of plans for Gillingham Sewerage schemes 1934 and 1965, former by W.H. Radford & Son of Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, civil engineers, latter by J.K. Urwin, Borough Engineer, (22 items);
roll of plans of Gillingham main drainage scheme 1965-1966 (10 items);
roll of accommodation plans of Municipal Buildings, Gillingham c.1960 (2 items);
roll of facsimile plans of Municipal Buildings, Gillingham as above (2 items);
25”: 1 mile OS map 1898 edition of drainage or water mains, Gillingham; 25”: 1 mile OS map 1898 edition showing boundaries, public houses and certain roads marked;
25”: 1 mile OS map 1898 edition showing storm water drainage scheme with legend including Redfern’s scheme 1906;
handdrawn, pen and ink wash military map of Chatham and environs surveyed between 1781 and 1783 by Colonel Hugh Debbieg [alias Diebig], stamped HQ Royal Engineers, Thames District, Chatham 1895 & 1896, showing woodland, hedgerows, trees, boundaries, buildings, defence works, barracks, coastline, marshes, watercourses and relief, high ground represented by radiating lines or strokes around isolated high features or parallel lines and strokes for continuous features (paper, repaired and backed onto linen);
plan of Gillingham High Street Improvements by John L. Redfern ARIBA 1925;
building plan registers [for plans relating, please see deposit MTC/MR/5], Kelly’s Directories;

exhibition photographs, Bloor’s Wharf, 1997 (32 items, mounted and captioned);

mounted photograph of councillors and officers of Gillingham Borough Council on occasion of presentation of freedom scroll to Alderman J.J. Knight, with captions, 1926 (1 item, mounted); aerial photograph of Royal Naval Hospital, Royal Navy Chatham Division and Great Lines, Gillingham c.1950 (1 item); photograph of HMS Shannon at sea c.1920 (1 item, mounted); photograph of HMS Oleaner at anchor, by Symonds and Co., Portsmouth, Hampshire c.1920 (1 item, mounted); group photograph of Cricket Club, Royal Naval Hospital, Royal Navy Chatham Division, Gillingham, with captions, by Morehen and Co., 6 High Street, Old Brompton 1910 (1 item, mounted)

Photograph of woman mayor of Gillingham 1994 (1 item);

Call no.: GBC (uncatalogued)  Prior notice required for access

File updated by Borough Archivist 9 November 2006


Date: 1895-c.1997
Quantity: Pending
Result number 2 - Please quote Reference: DRc_Dean_and_Chapter_of_Rochester_Cathedral_1541_1994/DRc_Ele_071_07 on request slip.

Path: Ecclesiastical_Regular_and_Capitular_Foundations/ DRc_Dean_and_Chapter_of_Rochester_Cathedral_1541_1994/ BB02_Estate_Records_1346_1963/ 03_DRc_Ele_Leases_1346_to_1896/ DRc_Ele_071_07.html

Dean and Chapter of Rochester.

Leases.

Cliffe

Bargain and Sale

Cardons manor, orchard and 23 acres arable, meadow and pasture land; Cardens Gowche and Martynlande (13 acres); a cottage; 6 acres 2 yards 7 dayworks l perch meadow in Cliffe common mead lately walles in from the over flowinge of the Sea; Boydens Ladie close, Pigeons Ladie close and Great Ratley Hill (23 acres); 4 acres arable in Cliffe common fields; a field called [..........] (4½ acres); Nobbyns field (8 acres); Bushie close (4½ acres); Middle Common Crofts (8 acres); Bushie close (4½ acres); Middle Common Crofte (8 acres); Rowles close, Hobwell close and Boidens Sowle field (8½ acres); Surdre brook pasture 3½ acres); Park close, Meadwecke marsh of which 22 acres lie within the new wall; and Mews, Golding Hill and Broome [cf. Broom] Hill.

Sir William Wollowbie [cf. Willoughby, Willobie, Wilughby, Willowghby, Willowghbye] of Southcharlton, Nottinghamshire [ sic, i.e. Northumberland?], kt. and John Sommers of Rochester, gentleman to George Gilson of London, gentleman.

Consideration £900.

Description re-edited by Borough Archivist, Medway Council 13 October 2000.

Date: 19 May 1604
Quantity: 1 item
Result number 3 - Please quote Reference: DRc_Rochester_Priory_and_other_Religious_Houses_1080_1541/DRc_00_T070_T094_Intro on request slip.

Path: Ecclesiastical_Regular_and_Capitular_Foundations/ DRc_Rochester_Priory_and_other_Religious_Houses_1080_1541/ BA01_Foundation_Charters_Title_Deeds_and_Leases_c1090_1539/ 01_St_Andrews_Priory_Rochester_c1100_1526/ DRc_00_T070_T094_Intro.html

Cathedral Priory of St.Andrew the Apostle, Rochester

Title Deeds and Leases: CHATHAM, FRINDSBURY AND GILLINGHAM

Shawstead [cf. Sharsted] manor, Lidsing [cf. Lydsing] manor, Dargate, Holwode (Holewods), Horsted and Walderslade

William de Say alienated the manor of Shawstead [cf. Sharsted] to Robert de Beleknappe [cf. Beleknap, Belknap, Belknappe, Belcknappe, Belkeneppe, Belkeneppe] and Amy, his wife in 1365 at which time there were apparently many small portions of the manor in the hands of other persons. Some of these small portions he acquired later. In 1376 Robert de Beleknappe [cf. Beleknap, Belknap, Belknappe, Belcknappe, Belkeneppe, Belkeneppe] alienated Shawstead manor, half Lidsing [cf. Lydsing] manor and certain lands in Chatham and Wouldham to Rochester priory in return for a payment of 22 marks a year which he reduced to 20 marks three years later. In 1382 he acquired a licence from the king for the priory to hold the property in mortmain but to continue paying him the rent of 20 marks a year and to perform his obit after his death. Matters continued thus until 1388 when all Robert de Belcknappe [cf. Beleknap, Belknap, Beleknappe, Belknappe, Belkeneppe, Belkeneppe]'s property was seized into the king's hands on account of a judgement against him in the king's court held at Westminster, Middlesex on 3 February 1387/1388*. The property he had alienated remained in the possession of the priory but the rent of 20 marks was sold to John Scarle for 200 marks and from him passed through several hands until it came into the possession of William Makenade who obtained a special licence from the king to leave it to the priory on his death to provide for his obit**.

* He was banished to Drogheda, County Louth, Ireland for his part of subscribing to a formal Act of Council drawn up at Nottingham, Nottinghamshire. This document embodied the questions put to the judges and their respective answers as to whether they considered the ordinances by which Michael de la Pole, Earl of Suffolk was impeached were derogatory to the royal prerogative. the Act was sealed by all the judges whose answers were naturally biased in favour of the Crown, and on this count they were all later arrested, accused of treason and banished. There is evidence that Robert de Beleknappe [cf. Beleknap, Belknap, Belknappe, Belcknappe, Belkeneppe, Belkeneppe] sealed the document under the protest and duress. He was recalled from Ireland in 1392 and died in about 1400.

** See DRc/T94/7-11 below and also DRc/T66/1 K-N.

The first group of documents listed below DRc/T70-85 relates to small portions of Shawstead [cf. Sharsted] manor some of which were acquired by Robert de Beleknappe [cf. Beleknap, Belknap, Belknappe, Belcknappe, Belkeneppe, Belkeneppe] after 1376; the second group DRc/T86-94/11 relates to Robert be Beleknappe's acquisition of Shawstead manor and his alienation of it with half Lidsing [cf. Lydsing] manor and other lands to Rochester priory.


Date: 1262-1399
Quantity: DRc/T70-94


Result number 4 - Please quote Reference: DRc_Rochester_Priory_and_other_Religious_Houses_1080_1541/DRc_T060 on request slip.

Path: Ecclesiastical_Regular_and_Capitular_Foundations/ DRc_Rochester_Priory_and_other_Religious_Houses_1080_1541/ BA01_Foundation_Charters_Title_Deeds_and_Leases_c1090_1539/ 01_St_Andrews_Priory_Rochester_c1100_1526/ DRc_T060.html

Cathedral Priory of St. Andrew the Apostle, Rochester

Inspeximus of King Henry III to the Prior and Convent of Rochester 1265

1. Charter of King William II to the Archbishops, bishops, abbots, earls and other barons of the realm to St. Andrew's Church and the monks there. [1098-1098]*

Gift of the manor of Haddenham in Buckinghamshire with the church and all the appurtenances free of all secular exactions in free and perpetual alms to St. Andrew's church and the monks there. No man shall enter there save the monks and their ministers. This gift was made at the request of Archbishop Lanfranc for the salvation of the king's soul and the souls of his parents.

* Lanfranc, Archbishop of Canterbury 1070-1089; King William II 1087-1100

Also the church of St. Mary, Lambeth [Surrey], the vill there and all its appurtenances to hold them as freely as the Countess Goda* used to hold them and as the king has to the present on his demesnes. This gift was made for the salvation of the king's soul and the restoration of the damage which he had unwillingly caused to the church in the conquest of his enemies gathered against him and his kingdom inside the city of Rochester over whom the Omnipotent God had granted him the victory.

They were to hold the above manor, and similarly all other manors, possessions and rights whether the gifts of former kings or other Christian people both ecclesinastical and secular before his time with all liberties called in English saca and socne, toln an theam, on strond an streame, on wudes, and feldes, and Grythebreghes, Homsocne, forstalles, Invangeneth-eoves, and Flemeneferme over all men within boroughs and without as fully as his own ministers are able to discover and better than ever Christ Church, Canterbury held or may in future hold those same liberties and customs in its own lands and possessions.

I, Lanfrance, not by my own merits but by the grace of god, Archbishop of Canterbury as much as in me is confirm this royal gift and this regal concession and confirmation, and by the authority of the omnipotent God and of all his saints I excommunicate all those who are tempted to infringe or weaken this royal gift in any part or presume to take away any of the liberties given to the Church of St. Andrew, Rochester. Eternal punishment with the traitor Judas shall be theirs save they offer full satisfaction.

* Sister of King Edward the Confessor.

Witnesses

Lanfranc, Archbishop of Canterbury
Thomas, Archbishop of York
Remigius, Bishop of Lincoln
Walkelin, Bishop of Winchester
Maurice, Bishop of London
Osmund, Bishop of Salisbury
Robert, Bishop of Hereford
Baldwin, Abbot of St. Edmunds
Henry, the king's brother
Count Alan
Count Hugh
Hugh de Monte Forti
Gilbert de Tonebrug'

2. Charter of King William II to the bishop of Sussex, the sheriff and all other barons French and English.

[1087-1100]* Confirmation of Rotherfield church [in Sussex] to St. Andrew's church, Rochester, the gift of Gilbert de Tonbridge, and all things pertaining to it in demesne and hunting rights and all other things whatsoever.

Witnesses

Roger Bigot and Haimo, Sheriff [of Kent] at Winchester [Hampshire].

* Roger le Poer, the king's chancellor did not become bishop of Salisbury until 1107. Anselm, Archbishop of Canterbury, one of those to whom the charter is addressed, died in 1109.

3. Charter of King Henry I

[1123-1135] See DRc/T51

4. Charter of King Henry I to Archbishop Anselm and Hamo, the steward and all barons and faithful men of Kent.[1107-1109]

Confirmation to Rochester church and St. Andrew of the lands, tithes and wood which William de Albini gave them: the tithes of Elham from his demesne; one carucate of land and wood which Robert, son of Watsona held of him; and one half the tithe of Bilsington from his demesne.

Witness

Roger [le Poer], Bishop [of Salisbury] and Chancellor at Westminster [Middlesex].

5. Charter of King Henry II to the archbishops, bishops, earls, nobles, sheriffs and other faithful men in the counties where the monks of St. Andrews church, Rochester have lands and possessions. [1174-1189]*

General confirmation to St. Andrew's church, Rochester of all lands and possessions, and all gifts of manors, lands, churches and tithes made to the church and the monks up to the present time by kings, archbishops, bishops, earls or other persons whatsoever nobles of the realm: the manors of Wouldham, Frindsbury, Stoke, Southfleet, Denton and Lambeth with their appurtenances, Haddenham with the manor of Cuddington appendant to it and 40 hides of land belonging to it; all other small lands and all rents of all lands wherever they may be which they have acquired.

* Geoffrey, Bishop of Ely 1174-1189 a witness

Confirmation of Boxley church which his grandfather Henry gave them in free and perpetual alms, and similarly the churches of Aylesford, Sutton with the chapels of Wilmington and Kingsdown; Dartford, Chislehurst and Woolwich with all their appurtenances and rights, and all the tithes of the vills where they are in land, annones, pasturage and cattle; the whole tithe from Strood and Chalk and the tithe of whales caught in the bishopric of Rochester.

Confirmation of the fourth penny from the toll of land and water in the city of Rochester, and from the ferry when the bridge is broken; and, saving the king's tax, one fourther part of all the issues pertaining to the Constable of the city: and the whole toll from the two day fair held on the festival of St. Paulinus whose body rests in St. Andrew's church in the City of Rochester, all of which his grandfather Henry gave and confirmed to them.

No man, French or English shall enter there save they and their officials to whom they wish to entrust them.

Confirmation of Northfleet church which Archbishop Anselm gave them, Rotherfield church with Frant Chapel, Stourmouth church, Stiford church, a church in London called Berchingechirche*, Lambeth church [Surrey], and Haddenham church [Buckinghamshire] with the chapels of Cuddington and Eie, with all their appurtenances, all small tithes, small lands and all rents of all lands wherever they may be given by Christian people.

He confirms them all with Socne, and saca on stronde and streame and wude and felde tolnes and theames and Grithbreches and Hamsocne and forstalles and Infangenetheves and flemeneferme over all men within boroughs and without as fully as his own ministers may be able to discover and better than ever Christ Church, Canterbury held them to this day.

* All Hallows, Berkingchurch by the Tower.

They and their men shall be absolutely free of all castlework, military service and burgbote; and none shall harm them on pain of the king's full penalty.

Witness

Geoffrey, Bishop of Ely at Nottingham [Nottinghamshire].

6. Charter of King Henry II [1154-1189]

See DRc/T53

Charter of King Richard I to all men French and English

[1193]* General confirmation to St. Andrew's church, Rochester and the monks there of all their lands, manors, churches, tithes and possessions, and all customs and liberties given by his ancestors and Christians of his realm, just as Christ Church, Canterbury held them.

The monks shall have the fourth penny from the toll of land and water in the city of Rochester, from the ferry when the bridge is broken, and from the whole hundred; and, saving the king's tax, one fourth part of all the issues pertaining to the Constable of the city; and all the other things which his father Henry confirmed to them by his charter which he has seen with is own eyes and held in his own hands. And he, [King] Richard, following in the footsteps of his most dear father confirms them all that they may remain firm forever.

* Numbers 7 and 8 may be of similar date. In the August of the year 1193 the king gave several charters to the newly founded hospital of the New Work of St. Mary in Strood at Worms [Palatinate, Germany]. He was out of the country 12 December 1189 - 13 March 1194 on the Crusade and in captivity in Germany: he again left England for France on 12 May 1194 and never returned.

No man from his kingdom shall enter there save the monks and their officials to whom they wish to entrust them. They shall hold freely and quietly and none shall harm them on pain of a £10 fine.

The king at Worms [Palatinate, Germany] 30 August.

8. Charter of King Richard I to the Constable and the whole Hundred of Rochester

[1189-1194]* Confirmation to St. Andrew's church, Rochester and the monks there of all the tenures which they hold from a tenement of the king's in the city of Rochester saving the rent which they owe to the king's bailiff each year. The bailiff pertaining to their treasury shall have free entry and exit through of the king's fee to assemble the tenants if necessary.

No person, save the king's officials, shall buy food in the city of Rochester before the monks have bought theirs on pain of a £10 fine.

The King at Spires [i.e. Speyer, Palatinate, Germany] 16 August

9. Charter of King Richard I

1197 See DRc/T56

Witnesses to the inspeximus of King Henry III

Walter, Bishop of Bath and Wells
Hugh le Bigod
Roger de Mortuo Mari
Roger de Clifford
Roger de Leyburn'
Robert Walerand
William de Acte
William Belet
Ralph de Bakepuz
Peter de Champvent

The king at Westminster [Middlesex] 3 December 1265

Endorsements

1. N.36
2. Figure 4 enclosed in a circle
3. The Confirmacion [i.e. Confirmation of Diverse olde [i.e. old] Charters: made by Kinge [i.e. King] Henrye [i.e Henry] the Thirde [i.e. Third]: in the Fyftyth [i.e. fiftieth] yere [i.e. year] of his Raigne [i.e. reign]. Anno domini [i.e. AD] 1265 [written by Martin Cotes, Chapter Clerk 1574-1605].

Seal
Obverse:
This shows the king crowned and seated on his throne holding in his left hand the orb and in his right hand the septre. His feet rest on two ? dogs and there are two greyhounds one on either side supporting or jumping up the lower parts of the throne. The legend reads: [+ HEN]RICIUS [i.e. Henricius]: DEI : GRACIA : REX : ANGLIE : DOMINUS : HYBERNIE [i.e. Hibernie (Ireland)]: DUX AQU[ITANNIE][i.e. Aquitaine, France]
Reverse:
This shows the king on horseback armoured and visored holding a sword in his right hand and shield bearing the three lions passant gardant for England in his left. The legend reads [+ HENRICIU]S : DEI : GRACIA : REX : ANGLIE : DOMINUS : HYBERNIE : DUX AQUIT[ANNIE]

This is a fine example of the great seal of Henry III and is very little damaged. It is attached to the document by the usual pink and green silk strings to which is also fixed a green cord on the end of which is a strip of parchment which has been torn from a document. This inspeximus of King Henry III may be the one which Prior John begged the king to give the priory after the disastrous events following the siege of Rochester in 1264, and the small strip of parchment on the cord may be all that remains of Henry II's original charter.

Latin
Date: 1265
Quantity: 1 item


Result number 5 - Please quote Reference: DRc_Rochester_Priory_and_other_Religious_Houses_1080_1541/DRc_R1 on request slip.

Path: Ecclesiastical_Regular_and_Capitular_Foundations/ DRc_Rochester_Priory_and_other_Religious_Houses_1080_1541/ BA07_Registers_of_the_Cathedral_Priory_C12_C14/ DRc_R1.html

WITHDRAWN

The Textus Roffensis

(Textus de Ecclesia Roffensi per Ernulphum episcopum) * (The Book of the Church of Rochester through Bishop Ernulf)

12th. - 14th. Centuries

For the newly launched digital images of the Textus Roffensis, please follow this link (to Rochester Cathedral website)

 http://www.rochestercathedral.org/news/categories/cathedral-news/288-textus-roffensis-online

 

Introduction

The Textus Roffensis is more properly two distinct books, though written at about the same time, and largely by the same scribe, which were only bound together some time after 1300. The first part contains one of the most important of all surviving collections of Anglo-Saxon laws, from the conversion of King Aethelberht of Kent to the coronation charter of King Henry I of 1100.

The second part is the oldest and most precious of the cathedral registers. It can best be described as a memorandum book, created for ease of reference and security. Both parts were compiled in part from individual or single sheet original documents or exemplars, many now lost, in part from the collective memory of the cathedral community.

Dr. Patrick Wormald of Oxford is more explicit and humorous in his explanation of the purpose of the book. He says of the Textus Roffensis: it would have made an impressive weapon for a churchman seeking to defend the position of his English foundation against prowling Norman predators, compiled as it was soon after the Norman Conquest.

The compilation represents the first documentary evidence of the compromises made between the new Norman rulers and their indigenous English subjects, hinting at a convergence rather than a collision between the English language and English laws on the one hand and Romance laws and language on the other.

The book contains two foundation charters of Rochester Cathedral and Diocese of 604 (DRc/R1 f.119 recto - f.119 verso and DRc/R1 f.177 recto), two pre-Conquest and pre-Domesday Book lists of Kent parishes and copies of the earliest English law codes to survive (contained in part i of the book, i.e. the first of the two separate books prior to their being bound together)

The book would have been placed on the high altar in the presbytery, or stored very near by, not in the nave as some scholars have supposed. The first suggestion that it was known as a Textus comes from the enigmatic mid-thirteenth-century (Brett) or fourteenth century (Flight) note as quoted above *, which is long after its compilation. The term Textus signifies a book with an ornamented or decorated cover of the kind kept in the church rather than the cloister thus differentiating the volume from a liber de claustro Roffensi or book from the cloister of Rochester. The title is sometimes erroneously taken to mean a text concerning the church of Rochester.

It was highly unusual for a non-sacred book to be accorded such status, evidence of the politico-religious importance attached to its mainly secular content.

Compilation

The compilation dates from the episcopate of Ernulf of Bec (1115-1124) and more specifically from the period 1122-1123 (Hough, 2001) or 1123-1124 (Wormald, 2001). At that time there was little distinction between the possessions of the priory and the bishopric, and the bishop lived in the priory buildings with the monks. Ernulf’s involvement is commemorated on the first folio.

Both parts were written by a single scribe. Flight surmises it was the prior of the day, Ordwine. Wormald suggests he was a trusted servant of Bishop Ernulf (talk transcript, 2004). Whoever he was, he was no ordinary scribe and possessed advanced scholarly and editorial powers and was responsible for seeking out and ordering as well as transcribing the book’s contents. Similarly, A. Campbell has stated the texts……when compared with the single sheets, inspire considerable confidence in the care, honesty, and accuracy of the scribe (1973).

Physical description.

The volume now contains 235 vellum leaves.

The main hand in both parts is an early twelfth century bookhand but a number of leaves, particularly in the second part, have been replaced, and there are also additions made down to the mid-fourteenth century in a variety of later hands, which mostly imitate the work of the first scribe with more or less success. Some of the dominant capitals are coloured but on the whole very little colour has been used. There is one fully illuminated capital letter, marking the beginning of the second part on f.119r. After the two parts were brought together they were foliated throughout except for ff. 234v-235v in arabic numerals and thus must have been foliated after c.1300, see below.

Nothing is known of the original bindings of the two parts while separated, but the new binding of c.1300 comprised wooden boards with a leather covering. This wooden binding almost certainly survived until the early eighteenth century as it was noted by Dr. John Harris, Prebendary of Rochester, who borrowed it (presumably just before it was rebound in 1718) for his History of Kent published in 1719.

On 21 December 1708 the Chapter meeting ordered the Dean to take the book to London for binding following a request for the loan of it to Dr. Edward Elstub [cf. Elstob] on security of £200 (DRc AC/5 p.55 recto). It is not certain the book was bound on that occasion but at some stage between 1708 and 1712 it was lent to Elstub as on 25 June 1712 the Chapter ordered him to return it (DRc AC/5 p.95 recto). The book was rebound in 1718 along with the Customale Roffense (DRc/R2) but as both were bound in Russia leather and only the latter retains its Russia leather cover, the present binding of the Textus Roffensis must be later. However, comparison with the Customale Roffense provides an indication of the appearance of the Textus Roffensis between 1718 and c.1750. That the present covering is not Mrs. Jane Steel's of 1718 (see below) is also confirmed by the absence of corners itemised in her bill. We may surmise that as the binding of the Customale Roffense is a conventional board and leather binding, Steel's rebinding of the Textus Roffensis was given the same treatment and was the occasion on which the medieval wooden boards were dispensed with. Harris' published reference to the wooden boards in 1719 therefore post-dates the rebinding by Steele and refers to the binding of the book whilst in his possession c.1716.

The cover was repaired by Charles Lamacraft in 1937.

Custodial history of the book

William Lambard had access to the Textus in 1573 and annotated several folios.

The first recorded removal of the book from the cathedral’s custody occurred in c.1631 when it appears to have been lent to Sir Henry Spelman (c.1564-1641) the antiquary, in London, for scholarly research. Spelman seems to have employed Thomas Somer, a clerk to Edward Robinson, Clerk of the Court of Chancery to privately transcribe the volume’s contents. At any rate, on completion of the task, the Dean and Chapter arranged for John Lorkin (alias Larkin), Prebendary, to collect the volume from Somer who delivered the book to Lorkin’s lodgings in London but finding the prebendary absent, left it in the hands of the landlord’s wife. Here began a sorry train of events.

Before Lorkin could lay his hands on the volume, a fellow lodger, Dr. Thomas Leonard, a physician of Canterbury, purchased the volume from the landlord’s wife or their servant, probably for the sum of 5 shillings. It took a legal action in the Court of Chancery for Dr. Leonard to surrender the book back into the Dean and Chapter’s custody in 1633.

During Dr. Leonard’s unauthorised custody of the book it was transcribed by Sir Edward Dering whose copy was the basis of Thomas Hearne’s published transcription of 1720. Dering like Lambard made numerous notes in the margins.

In the late 1650s or early 1660s the book was borrowed by Sir Roger Twisden who returned it safely in 1663. Hasted (History of Kent, 1782) believed the Chancery suit to have occurred after the Restoration but would appear to have confused Twisden’s borrowing of the book with its earlier unlawful alienation by Dr. Leonard.

It appears likely the book was loaned to Dr. Edward Elstub in 1708 for transcription by him and the infant prodigy James Smith. It was in the hands of Francis Atterbury, bishop of Rochester in 1717 (DRc AC5/5 pt.ii p.68) and loaned to Dr. John Harris in 1716 (whose History of Kent was published in 1719) (see DRc AC5 pt.ii pp.15-16). It seems the chapter supported Harris in a tussle with the Dean for its possession (DRc AC/5 part ii p.15)

Sometime between 1708 and 1718 the volume was accidentally immersed in either the River Thames or River Medway while being transported to or from London, to or from either Elstub or Harris (Harris, according to Hasted, in which case c.1716-c.1718). The immersion resulted in the margins of the vellum pages being slightly shrunk and stained by a white crystalline deposit. That the damage was limited may have been because of tight brass clasps connecting the wooden boards. The shrinkage and staining were successfully treated by Lamacraft in 1937.

Hasted describes the events thus: Since which they have been again in great danger of being deprived of it; for Dr. [John] Harris [DD FRS], having borrowed it for the use of his intended history of this county, sent it up to London by Water [cf. Rivers Thames and Medway], and the vessel being by the badness of the weather overset, this Mss. lay for some hours under water before it was discovered, which has somewhat damaged it. If accurate, this event can be dated to c.1716-c.1718.

The book is noted as having been returned and presented to the Chapter on 7 July 1719 after being new bound. It is also apparent from this entry (DRc AC/5 pt.iii p.34) that the proper or normal storage place of the book was the chapter room. The rebinding referred to is almost certainly that of Mrs. Jane Steel, whose bill was settled on 15 July 1718 (DRc FTv/54/10). It is thus obvious the book was absent between 1718 and 1719 perhaps being used by another borrower, most likely the bishop who seems to have prompted its repair, being named on Steel's bill, but the point to note is that the rebinding could have been the result of the water damage which can thus be dated to c.1716-1718 perhaps whilst being returned by Dr. Harris. The book was rebound by Steel along with the Customale Roffense (DRc/R2)

The book was borrowed for one year by Edmund Barrell (variously prebendary, vice-dean and treasurer of the cathedral and vicar of Boxley) by authorisation of the chapter on 25 November 1719 (DRc AC/5 pt.iii p.40), returned on 12 December 1719 (DRc AC/5 pt.iii p.47) and borrowed again by him on 27 January 1719/1720 (DRc AC/5 pt.iii p.47).

The Textus Roffensis was transcribed and published by Thomas Hearne in 1720 from a copy in the Surrenden library (cf. Sir Edward Dering), but as there are no papers extant relative to the recovery of the register in the seventeenth century, it cannot be determined whether the original was ever part of the Surrenden library. The register was also used extensively by John Thorpe in his compilation of the Registrum Roffense in 1769.

David Wilkins had access to the book for his Leges Anglo-Saxonicae published in 1721 and in the 19th. century further work was undertaken on the book by Richard Price, Benjamin Thorpe and Felix Liebermann.

The book was disbound for photography for Sawyer’s facsimiles published in 1957 and 1962.

Conservation work was undertaken by James Wayre at Canterbury Cathedral Archives in 1996.  The book was also photographed in its entirety in black and white, the prints being lodged with Rochester Cathedral Library and the negatives with Canterbury Cathedral Archives.

The book was fully digitally photographed in high resolution and colour for Medway Council in 2004 for publication in the CityArk Imagebase (click view images button above) and the binding and thirty pages (p.iii-4 recto, 31 verso - 32 recto, 49 verso - 50 recto, 53 verso - 56 recto, 95 verso - 97 recto, 110 verso - 111 recto, 118 verso - 119 recto, 166 verso -167 recto, 176 verso - 177 recto and 220 verso - 221 recto) were scanned at the British Library on 19 September 2007 following its winning of first place in the Turning the Pages 2 competition for local hidden treasures to be included in the British Library's Turning the Pages web site for three years, published on 23 January 2008.

No cover to cover translation of the Textus Roffensis is known to exist.

Bad staining occurs at ff.126v-127r. This appears to have been caused subsequent to the book's immersion in the River Thames and pre-Sawyer as it appears in his facsimile.

The book was deposited by the Dean and Chapter of Rochester at Kent Archives Office in Maidstone in 1969. Prompted by the creation of the more local Rochester upon Medway City Archives Office in 1990 the cathedral archives including the Textus Roffensis were transferred to Strood in 1992. This office was managed by employees of Kent County Council until 1998 when management and custody passed from Kent County Council to the new Unitary Authority (i.e. County Borough) and Archives Authority, Medway Council.

The English Language

The book contains the putative first record of the English language, in the form of the Laws of Ethelbert of c.604 but see also the foundation charters also of 604. The Laws of Ethelbert begin:

Godes feoh and ciricean xii gylde. Biscopes feoh xi gylde. Preostes feoh ix gylde. Diacones feoh vi gylde. Cleroces feoh iii gylde. Ciric frith ii gylde

(The property of God and of the church, twelvefold; a bishop's property, elevenfold; a priest's property, ninefold; a deacon's property, sixfold; a clerk's property, threefold; churchfrith, twofold) (translation Fordham University).

The English used in the constituent Old English books is the Jutish dialect of Old English. The Textus is important because it preserves this rarer dialect of English, West Saxon becoming the predominant literary dialect of Old English. The modern English language is derived successively from the Mercian and East Midland dialects.

The book is thus an important record of an emerging language and the earliest recorded Germanic language after Gothic, which became extinct, and the fourth oldest recorded European language, excluding Gothic, after Greek, Latin and Irish.

The Old English texts contained in the Textus Roffensis also represent the creation of a new alphabet, possibly the first vernacular alphabet after Greek and Latin, combining a Celtic variety of Latin characters, two Germanic runes named thorn and win and a third new letter comprising a modified d called eth.

English Law

The Laws of Ethelbert and the other Kentish laws of the seventh and eighth centuries are the earliest of their kind to survive and are the earliest law codes to be recorded in the vernacular, as against the Latin usage of the Roman Empire.

Dr. Patrick Wormald states: Aethelbert’s code is best seen as the law of the Cantwara; a signal that they had joined Franks and Romans in the ranks of civilized because law-abiding peoples. Aethelbert’s laws were largely accepted laws but the later law codes preserved in the book show how English law had developed into innovatory law. Wormald also states: more than any other legal manuscript, it was both memorial to the past and instrument of its adaptation in a new world.

Anglo-Saxon Historical Research

The Textus Roffensis is a crucial primary source for the history of the Anglo-Saxon period, the more so because the scribe was scholarly and accurate in selecting and copying from his originals.

Wormald states the book matters crucially for the study of Anglo-Saxon charters…because the second part of the MS is a cartulary containing three dozen pre-conquest documents.

A source for Ancient History

The law codes may provide an insight into the Barbarian peoples of northern Europe at the height of the Roman Empire as their customary origins may pre-date the Germanic settlement of Britain and therefore provide glimpses of customs and rituals referred to by Roman writers which are not otherwise contemporarily or disinterestedly recorded. This particularly applies to feud and blood money or compensation in money or in kind.

A Medieval Renaissance

The scribe of the Textus Roffensis is a striking exponent of a distinctive form of Caroline miniscule handwriting or bookhand that was developed at Canterbury and Rochester around 1100 and which became influential nationally.

The later foliation of the book is an early example of the use in English documents of Arabic numerals, which made a first tentative appearance on any scale in France in the thirteenth-century, but only became widespread in the fifteenth century. The Arabic foliation cannot be earlier than c.1300 and probably dates from c.1400 (Liebermann).

The Textus Roffensis defines a unique moment in English history, in which a mixed community of Anglo-Saxons and incoming Normans assembled the materials of the past of the ancient church in which they all served, associated them with the whole history of Christendom, and deployed them in defence of a profound reform of the life of the cathedral. (In 1077 the original secular foundation had been converted into a Benedictine regular foundation.)

The compilation of ancient English documents forming part of the Textus Roffensis itself represents a new self-conscious attempt at recording an English heritage, after the Norman Conquest. The incomers needed an effective guide to the law of King Edward (i.e. King Edward the Confessor) as the Conqueror and King Henry his son promised to observe it; incomer and native alike needed all the resources of the book to preserve their ancient rights and recent acquisitions.

The book, chiefly in the form of the law codes, also records an important stage in nation-building and one that influenced the constitutions of England, Great Britain, the United Kingdom, the United States of America and many Commonwealth countries.

Wormald explains this more eloquently: there is an at least indirect connection between the fact that England is today the world’s oldest continuously functioning state and that English is its most widely spoken language. Its language and law are the most enduring marks of Englishness, its main claims to anyone else’s attention. The history of both begins with Aethelbert.

The book may thus be considered as evidence of a 12th. Century and 13th. Century European renaissance that some historians consider to have anticipated the better known 15th. Century renaissance. Aside from its liturgical value and the cartulary in Part II, it also serves the dual purpose of preserving the main corpus of pre-Conquest English law codes that would not otherwise have survived intact and as self-conscious evidence of statehood.

Examples of documents included in the Textus Roffensis

The laws of King Ethelbert of Kent c.604
(DRc/R1 f.1 recto - f.3 verso)

Ethelbert was born c.560 and ruled c580 x c590-616.

The first two lines Dis syndon da domas de aethelbirht cyning asette on agustinus daege (these are the dooms [or laws] that King Ethelbert set in Augustine's days) were composed and added at the time of the compilation of the Textus Roffensis 1123 x 1124 and constitute the first example of the scribe’s many rubrications throughout the text. The rubrication acts as a useful heading and is evidence of the scribe’s editorial control over the whole compilation.

The mid-13th. Century footnote Text[us] de ecc[lesi]a Roff[en]si p[er] Ernulfu[m] ep[iscopu]m (The Book of the Church of Rochester through Ernulf, Bishop), attributes the compilation to the orders of Bishop Ernulf of Rochester. This note has lent itself to the document’s name (see above).

The words of the first 5 lines Godes feoh and ciricean xii gylde. Biscopes feoh xi gylde. Preostes feoh ix gylde. Diacones feoh vi gylde. Cleroces feoh iii gylde. Ciric frith ii gylde (The property of God and of the church, twelvefold; a bishop's property, elevenfold; a priest's property, ninefold; a deacon's property, sixfold; a clerk's property, threefold; churchfrith, twofold) are putatively the earliest surviving words of the English language.

The marginal notes were made by William Lambard in 1573 and Sir Edward Dering in 1632.

The Laws of Aethelbert of Kent of c 604 were entered up 1123 x 1124, They are immediately preceded by notes on Old English characters made by Elizabeth Elstob in 1712 and followed by the Laws of Hlothere and Eadric of Kent 673-c685, also entered up 1123 x 1124.

List of the Archbishops of Canterbury
(DRc/R1 f.110 verso)

This list is naturally the first of the lists of bishops of English dioceses contained in the Textus Roffensis, Canterbury having precedence as the primatial see.

The list begins with Augustine (Augustinus), appointed to Canterbury in 597 and extends to Walter (Walterus) in 1314. However, the main scribe’s hand is evident only down to Ralph (Rodulfus) (succeeded 1114) after whose name other hands have added to the list. This possibly helps date the principal compilation of the Textus Roffensis or at any rate Part 2 to 1123 or just before 1123 when William de Corbeil succeeded. This evidence is by no means determinate however as the list of bishops of Rochester in the main hand extends only to Godwin II who died c.950 with the inference that the main scribe used his discretion in including recent or current archbishops and bishops.

List of the Bishops of Rochester
(DRc/R1 f.111 recto)

This list has pride of place among the lists of bishops of the dioceses following the list of archbishops of Canterbury, beginning with Justus in 604 and ending with Hamo of Hythe in 1316. However as with the Canterbury list, the list was compiled by the main scribe only down to Godwin II who died c.1050 after whose name other hands have added to the list.

These two lists have proved crucial in dating the book. Note additional archbishops and bishops' names in later hands.

Grant of land to St. Andrew’s church at Rochester 28 April 604
(DRc/R1 f.119 recto - f.119 verso)

This page marks the beginning of Part II of the Textus Roffensis, the cartulary of Rochester Priory.

The illumination comprises the illuminated letter R of Regnante formed out of an angel and winged dragon coloured green, lake and vermilion and introduces the charter of King Aethelbert (or Ethelbert) of Kent granting land in Rochester to Bishop Justus and the church of St. Andrew. The charter seems to assume the church already exists. It should be noted the church did not become a priory until Archbishop Lanfranc instituted monks of the Benedictine order here in 1083, at which time Bishop Gundulf began his rebuilding and endowment programme. Down to that time, the church had been a college of lay clerks.

The document is dated 28 April by reference to the imperial Julian Calendar and to 604 by reference to the Indiction. Calculation by indiction was first used in imperial documents, though different forms of it were also used in ecclesiastical documents for centuries. The year of the Incarnation is not given in the document, but Bede places the consecration of Bishop Justus and the foundation of the diocese in 604.

The rubrication or heading was added by the main scribe in the 1120s and the marginalia by Sir Edward Dering in 1632.

The charter breaks into Old English to describe the boundaries of land in the south-western corner of the city granted by the king to the church, the area of the Roman fortress and the later medieval castle:

Fram suthgeate west and langes wealles oth north lanan to straete and sra east fram straete oth dodding hyrnan on gean brad geat

(From South Gate in the west and along the walls to North Lane, to the Street, and so east from Street to Doddinghern Lane and then to Broad Gate).

If the boundary clause is indeed very ancient, this document contains the first record of placenames or street names in the English language and the earliest firmly dated record of the English language. The Street is Watling Street i.e. Rochester High Street; Doddinghern [Lane] is now Boley Hill (formerly King’s Head Lane), in Rochester, see Gordon Ward MD FSA's map in Archaeologia Cantiana LXII 1949 p.38.

However, the document is in part at least a later forgery in common with many charters of the Anglo-Saxon period and was devised to give legal basis to rights not otherwise recorded.

The document is immediately preceded by a note of an inquisition made in 1199 concerning the debts of Rochester Priory.

Grant of land to St. Andrew’s church at Rochester 604
(DRc/R1 f.177 recto)

This document, recording the principal gifts to the church from its foundation to the grant made by King Henry I at the consecration of the new cathedral in 1130, is one of the early additions to the book. The date given, 600, is not accepted by historians. Justus was sent to England by Pope Gregory in 601 and ordained bishop of Rochester in 604.

The area of land conveyed by King Ethelbert is described thus: Omnem terram quae est a medu waie usque ad [?] orientalem portum civitatis in australi parte (All the land which is on the southern side from the Mead Way as far as the east gate of the City).

The land in question is thus the land upon which the church was built, see Gordon Ward MD FSA's map in Archaeologia Cantiana LXII 1949 p.38.

It should be noted that the street named as Mead Way on Ward's map is erroneous. The Latin medu waie in the original document is certainly the River Medway, not an earlier name for Northgate, formerly Pump Lane, as suggested by Ward. Thus an earlier translation by R.C. Fowler OBE BA FSA is correct (Victoria County History of Kent, volume ii p. 121 1926)

The entry represents at least the collective memory of the community at Rochester by the mid-twelfth century; if there had ever been a charter to record this early grant, it appears to have been long lost.

Coronation Charter or Institutiones of King Henry I, 1100
(DRc/R1 ff. 96 recto-97 verso)

This is the earliest document of its kind to survive, a promise made by a new king faced by dangerous enemies that he would govern according to good law. Its importance was underlined when Sir William Blackstone published his famed work Commentaries on the Laws of England between 1765 and 1769.

A version of King Henry’s charter was certainly known to the opponents of King John in 1215, and provided a very general precedent for the demands which were met (at least briefly) in Magna Carta of 1215, by which for the first time a king was constrained to acknowledge that he too was bound by the laws which he enforced on his subjects. In Statutes of the Realm published in 1810, Henry’s charter was deemed to outrank Magna Carta in importance.

The Rochester version of the charter, contained in the Textus Roffensis, is the earliest of the numerous surviving copies; the form is broadly that which seems to have been known to the barons in the months before the grant of Magna Carta. John’s opponents seem to have used a version not dissimilar to that in the Textus, but almost certainly one they found in an early-thirteenth-century copy of the Leges Londinienses.

In the charter Henry declared he had been made king by the common consent of the barons; forbade evil customs introduced by William the Conqueror, his father, or William Rufus, his brother; made the church free; abolished abuses of feudal relief, marriage and wardship; upheld allegiance to the king irrespective of traditional feudal lordships; instituted a reform of the coinage; agreed justice would be administered to those who had made or kept bad money; authorised the bequeathing of personal estates by will; agreed men who suffered forfeiture were no longer to be at the king’s mercy; agreed in return for supplying men and horses for the defence of the realm, knights were to be allowed their demesne lands free of tax; agreed peace was to be kept; reinstated the laws of Edward the Confessor as amended by William the Conqueror; and asserted the forests were to remain as they had been under William the Conqueror, with the agreement of the barons.

The document was witnessed by Bishop Gundulf. It is immediately preceded in the book by Bequeathing Form.

Service of Bridgework: list of personages, parishes and manors liable to repair Rochester Bridge, early 11th. century
(DRc/R1 f.166 verso)

This document probably constitutes a description of liabilities for the repair of Rochester Bridge. It is useful as a physical description of the partly English, partly Roman bridge of the period prior to the erection of the later medieval bridge completed in about 1398. However it could also be read as specifications for a proposed new bridge.

The Bridgework list was probably compiled in the first half of the 11th. century. The Textus Roffensis also contains a Latin copy of the original, written by the main scribe at the same time as this transcription in the 1120s (DRc/R1 f.164 verso).

The document was no doubt included in the Textus Roffensis because of the obligations for repair placed on the bishop and his parishes. In this latter regard, historians have used the list as a source for the origins and development of Kent parishes, in conjunction with the slightly later Domesday Book of 1087.

The document begins with the scribe’s rubrication: This is thaere bricce geweorc on hrovecaestre (This is the Bridgework at Rochester) and continues from the original source, the first clause of which states:

Her syndon genamad tha land the man hi of scale weorcan; Aerest thaere burge biscop fehth on thone earm to wercene tha land peran and threo gyrda to pilliane and iii sylla to lycanne, thaet is of Borcstealle and of Cucclestane and of Frinondesbyrig and of Stoce

(Here are named the lands from which the labour is due. First the bishop of the city undertakes to construct the land pier on the [eastern] arm and to plank three rods and to set in place 3 beams, that is from Borstal, Cuxton, Frindsbury and Stoke.)

The document is preceded by an unruled later 12th. Century addition.

List of churches receiving Holy Chrism from St. Andrew’s Church c.1080
(DRc/R1 ff.220 verso – 222 recto)

Holy Chrism was consecrated oil used in the rite of baptism. It was an old custom for the mother church to distribute chrism oil to the subordinate churches of the bishopric at Easter for which a fee of either sixpence or nine pence was charged, known as the Chrism Fee.

The list therefore served as an accounting record of the Chrism fees due from each church.

The list is important as it comprises a list of parishes and chapels nearly contemporary with the Domesday Book of 1087 and may even have been in use pre-Conquest (1066).

Additionally, the list supplies information on chapels and manors and the development of parish areas. For example, in addition to an entry for Frindsbury Church, Strood, Islingham and Thorndun are recorded as chapels of Frindsbury. This indicates that St. Nicholas’ Church Strood was a daughter church of Frindsbury and that the parish of Strood was carved out of Frindsbury.

The list begins with the scribe’s rubrication De numero ecclesiaru[m] Rofensis ep[iscop]at[us] et de redditib[us] q[u]os sing[u]l[a]e reddu[n]t quando accipiu[n]t s[an]ctu[m] crisma a mat[re] eccl[esi]a ep[iscop]at[us] (Concerning the number of churches of the bishopric of Rochester and the payments which they each make when they received the holy chrism from the Episcopal mother church)

The parishes mentioned on the first page include Tonbridge (Tonebrigga), Yalding (Ealdinga), Brenchley (Braencesle), Horsmonden (Horsbundenne), Pembury (Peppingeberia), Wateringbury (Wotringaberia), Cowden (Cudena), Aylesford (Aeilesford), East Malling (Meallingis), Ryarsh (Reiersce), Chatham (Caetham), Cuxton (Cuclestena), Penshurst (Pennes hurst), Ightam (Ehteham) and Lewisham (Leueseham).

Synopsis of contents

Part 1 is preceded by various miscellaneous notes added by much later hands.

p.i recto memoranda and notes in early modern hands

p.i verso list of Old English characters

p.ii recto Latin inscription pertaining to book's return to custody following a law suit 1633

p.ii verso palimpsest

p.iii recto transcription by Dr. John Harris of inscription found on the medieval wooden cover of book, as above 1633

p.iii verso a list of Old English characters by Elizabeth Elstob entered up in 1712

Part 1: Quedam instituta de legibus regum Anglorum (Some enactments from the laws of the kings of the English) (DRc/R1 f.58 recto) [translation Flight]

i.e. legal texts, law codes and regnal lists stemming from the kingdoms of the English Heptarchy, England

ff.1 recto- 3 verso: Ethelbert [cf. Aethelbert] king of Kent [commencing Dis syndon da domas de aethelbirht cyning asette on agustinus daege (transliteration Morris/Sawyer) ( these are the dooms [or laws] that King Ethelbert fixed in Augustine's days) (translation Fordham University.)] It should be noted modern scholars (Hough, Richards and Wormald) suggest this heading to be a later rubrication prefaced by the scribe to the text of the original document from which he copied. (For a 35mm colour slide/transparency see collection M51)
ff.3 verso-5 recto: Hlothere [cf. Lother/Lothair] and Eadric [cf. Edric], kings of Kent
ff.5 recto-6 verso: Wihtred [cf. Wightred], king of Kent
f.7 recto-verso: Hadbot [cf. Hadbote/had; compensation for affront or injury to a person in holy orders, see The Oxford English Dictionary edited by J.A.H. Murray [etc.] 1970, Archives library]
ff.7 verso-8 verso: West Saxon (Wessex) regnal table i.e. list of kings of Wessex
ff.9 recto-31 verso: Alfred [cf. Aelfred] (ff.11 recto- 24 verso) and Ine (ff.24 verso-31 verso), kings of Wessex;
ff.31 verso-32 recto: be blaserum (About Arsonists) and Forfang [rescue of stolen money or reward for rescuing stolen money]
f.32 recto-verso: Ordeal (cf. Ordal)
f.32 verso: Walreaf (despoiling the dead) [cf. Wealreaf, Weilreif, Walaraupa, A Treatise of Gavelkind [etc.], William Somner, 1660]
ff.32 verso-37 recto: II King Athelstan [cf. Aethelstan]
ff.37 recto-38 recto: V King Athelstan [cf. Athelstan]
f.38 recto: IV King Athelstan [cf. Aethelstan]
f.38 recto: Pax [i.e. the king’s peace]
ff.38 verso-39 verso: Swerian [i.e. oath forms]
f.38 verso: f.39 verso: Mirca Laga (Of Mercian Law)
ff.40-41: Laws of Edward [cf. Eadward] the Elder, king of England and Guthrum (or Aethelstan/Athelstan), king of the Dane-Law +; after c.901;
ff.41 verso-42 recto: Wergeld the price set upon a man according to his rank, paid by way of compensation or fine in cases of homicide and certain other crimes to free the offender from further obligation or punishment ( The Oxford English Dictionary, q.v. ); ff.42 recto-43 recto: I King Edward
ff.43 recto-44 recto: II King Edward
ff.44 recto-45 recto: I King Edmund
ff.45 recto-46 recto: II King Edmund
ff.46 recto-47 recto: I King Ethelred
f.47 recto-verso: King William I, On Exculpation
ff.48 recto-49 verso: III King Ethelred
ff.49 verso-57 recto: Iudicia Dei I_III i.e. the judgment of God, comprising Exorcismus-aquae (f.49 verso), Exorcismus-ferri (f.53 verso) and Exorcismus-panis (ff.55 verso -56 recto) i.e. the ceremonies of ordeal by red-hot iron, boiling water, immersion in water or by barley bread and cheese
f.57 verso: Canute, king of England, Charter for Christ Church, Canterbury
ff.58 recto-80 recto: Instituta Cnuti, I II III
ff.80 recto-81 verso: III King William I, Ten Articles
ff.81 verso-87 recto: Exceptiones, ex decretis pontificum, quales accusatores
ff.88 recto-93 recto: VI King Athelstan
f.93 verso- 94 recto Northleoda laga (Of the North people's law)
ff.93 verso-94 recto: Wergeld
ff.94 verso-95 recto: On betrothal/wedding
f.95 recto: charm against theft
f.95 recto-verso: Bequeathing form
ff. 96 recto-97 verso: King Henry I; Institutiones henrici regis
ff.98 recto - 100 recto: Excommunication
f.101 recto-verso: West Saxon [i.e. Wessex] genealogy
ff. 102 recto-104 recto: English royal genealogies, Adam to Edward Ironside (f.101 recto), Northumbria (f.102 recto), Mercia (f.102 recto), Kent (f.103 recto), Wessex (f.103 verso)
ff. 105 recto-116 recto: lists of popes, Roman++ emperors f.107 verso), oriental patriarchs [i.e. of Jerusalem [Palestine/Israel] (f.107 verso), Alexandria [Egypt] (f.109 recto) and Antiocha/Antioch [Syria] (f.109 verso)), and of English archbishops and bishops (ff.110 verso-116 recto) (Canterbury f.110v., Rochester f.111r.)
f.116 verso: a list of popes, seven archangels
f.117 recto: concerning pope Celestine
f.118 verso: note of an inquisition made in 1199 concerning debts of Rochester Priory.

Part 2: Incipiunt privilegia aecclesiae sancti andreae hrofensis concessa a tempore ethilberhti regis, qui fide christiana a beato augustino suscepta, eandem ecclesiam construi fecit (Privileges granted to the church of Saint Andrew of Rochester, from the time of king Aethelbert onwards, who, converted to the Christian faith by Saint Augustine, caused this church to be built) (DRc/R1 f.119 recto) [translation Flight]

i.e. cartulary of Rochester Cathedral Priory

Part 2 begins with an illuminated letter R formed out of an angel and winged dragon coloured green, lake and vermilion.

ff.119 recto-222 recto: cartulary, here partly summarised:

[604]
King Aethelberht [cf. Ethelbert] I of Kent to St. Andrew's Priory, Rochester of land in south-western part of the city, f.119. For an image of folio 119 recto, please click here

738
King Eadberht [cf. Edbert, Eadbert] of Kent to St. Andrew's Priory, Rochester ff119-120

762 Actually 747
King Eardwulf of Kent to St. Andrew's Priory, Rochester f123

762 King Sigered of Kent to Bishop Eardwulf of Rochester ff122-123;

764
King Offa of Mercia to Bishop Eardwulf of Rochester ff123-125;

765
King Ecgberht [cf. Egbert] of Kent to Bishop Eardwulf of Rochester confirmed by Heaberht of Kent and Offa of Mercia ff126-127;

761 x 764
Sigered, king of half Kent to Bishop Eardwulf of Rochester; confirmed by Eanmund of Kent ff125-126

778
King Ecgberht [cf. Egbert] of Kent to Bishop Deora of Rochester ff129-130;

779
King Ecgberht [cf. Egbert] II of Kent to bishop Deora f130

781 Actually 860-866
King Aethelberht [cf. Ethelbert] of Wessex to Bishop Deora of Rochester ff130-131

788
King Offa of Mercia to St. Andrew's Priory and Bishopric of Rochester ff131-132;

789
King Offa of Mercia to Bishop Waermund of Rochester ff133-134

789
King Offa of Mercia to Bishop Waermund and church at Rochester ff132-133;

801
King Coenwulf of Mercia and Cuthred of Kent to Swithlun ff135-136

811
King Coenwulf of Mercia to Bishop Beornmod of Rochester ff136-137

823
King Ecgberht [cf. Egbert] of Wessex to St. Andrew's Priory, Rochester ff137-138

838
King Ecgberht [cf. Egbert] of Wessex to Bishop Beornmod of Rochester ff138-139

841
King Aethelwulf [cf. Ethelwulf] of Wessex to Bishop Beornmod of Rochester f139

855
King Aethelwulf [cf. Ethelwulf] of Wessex to his minister Dunn; with Dunn's will ff139-140

860 & 790; actually c.975
King Aethelberht [cf. Ethelbert] of Wessex to Bishop Waermund of Rochester ff134-135
868

King Aethelred [cf. Ethelred] I of Wessex to Cuthwulf, Bishop of Rochester ff140-141

880
King Aethelwulf [cf. Ethelwulf] of Wessex to St. Andrew's Priory and Bishop Swithwulf ff141-142
942x946

King Eadmund [cf. Edmund] I (of Wessex) to Bishop Burhic of Rochester ff143-144

955
King Eadgar [cf. Edgar] of Wessex to St. Andrew's Priory ff150v-152

995 King Aethelred [cf. Ethelred] II to see of Rochester ff152-155

998 King Aethelred [cf. Ethelred] II to see of Rochester ff156-159

1012
King Aethelred [cf. Ethelred] II to Bishop Godwine (cf. Godwin) of Rochester ff159-162

[ff.163-221: here are charters and other documents mainly post-Conquest

including ff164v-167r list of persons and parishes liable for the repair of Rochester Bridge (Old English), an account of a trial on Penenden Heath, ff.168 recto-170 verso (Latin) and a list of churches and chapels in the diocese of Rochester liable to pay Rochester Cathedral a fee for receiving Holy Chrism or consecrated oil at Easter ff.220v-222r (written c.1115 but thought to have been composed c.1089 and possibly in use pre-Conquest); also including charter of King Ethelbert to St. Andrew's Church of land in south-eastern part of city 600 [actually 604] [forged] (f.177 recto)

ff.222 recto-223 verso: list of offices, masses etc. that ought to be said for members of religious houses in confraternity with Rochester

ff.224 recto-229 verso, 230 recto: lists/catalogue/inventory of books in Rochester Cathedral Priory Library [f.228 recto, line 1, mentions the first part (i.e. the laws) of the present Textus Roffensis as above

ff.232 verso-235: assize of ward of King Edward III

a version of the Domesday account of the Rochester fief, ff.209 recto-210 recto;

benefactions, mainly royal, 8th. Century - King William II, ff.215 recto-216 recto;

a list of knights, f.217 recto;

confirmations of privileges by archbishops of Canterbury William [Corbois/Corbyl] and Theobald, ff.203 recto, 204 verso-222 recto;

a judgment by Imar of Tusculum [cf. Frascati, near Rome, Italy] ff.203 verso-204 recto;

copy of a bull of Pope Eugenius III of 1146, ff.206 recto-208 recto.]

The above list has been compiled from Sawyer (Part 1) pp.15-18 and from Liebermann Archaeologia Cantiana volume xxiii (1898) p.112.

[+ cf. Denmark; Northumbria, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Rutland, Norfolk, Suffolk, Northamptonshire, Huntingdonshire, Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire and Essex]
[++ cf. Rome, Italy]

Notes, general.

The original document (DRc/R1) is not produced. Instead, facsimiles of various kinds are made available, from which any reprographic work is undertaken. The following is a list of facsimile sources or secondary sources relating to the Textus Roffensis. This list is not intended to be exhaustive.

Microfilm MF411 (searchroom duplicate).

Microfilm copy also held by University Microfilms, Annarbor, Michigan, United States of America

The book was digitally photographed in high resolution colour on 2 June 2004 by Ian Booth of Medway City Estate . These images (jpegs) are available here on Cityark- see Imagebase.

Notes, bibliographical

Fordham University website translations of Old English Laws or Dooms click here

Printed book Textus Roffensis facsimile, edited by P. Sawyer 1957, 1962 2 volumes, i.e. Parts I & II, Local Studies collection, Medway Archives and Local Studies Centre ref. qROC283

Printed book Textus Roffensis edited by Thomas Hearne [q.v.], 1720, containing a transcription and translation of the original Anglo-Saxon text (DRc/R1 chapters 81-82) describing and concerning Rochester Bridge (at pp.379-383), Local Studies collection, Medway Archives and Local Studies Centre ref. ROC283Y

Printed book entitled An Historical Account of that Venerable Monument of Antiquity the Textus Roffensis; including Memoirs of the Learned Saxonists Mr. William Elstub and his sister [Elizabeth] by Samuel Pegge MA 1784 ref. qROC091 Pegge

Printed booklet entitled Rochester Cathedral Library: its Fortunes and Adventures through Nine Centuries W.H. Mackean, canon and librarian, 1953

The Local Studies Unit, Medway Archives and Local Studies Centre has a set of glass plate negatives (formerly held at the Guildhall Museum) comprising a partial copy of the Textus Roffensis, ref. Box 1B negatives 3097-3105 and Box 1D negatives 3110-3144

Printed book Textus Roffensis and Customale Roffensis by H. Pratt Boorman, Kent Life March 1974, Local Studies collection, Medway Archives and Local Studies Centre

Printed booklet entitled The First Code of English Law (originally a lecture given at Canterbury Cathedral Archives under the title King Aethelberht of the Kent-people and the First English Code of Law) by Dr. Patrick Wormald, published by the Canterbury Commemoration Society, 2005, Medway Archives and Local Studies Centre

Article entitled The Textus Roffensis in Chancery AD1633 contained in Archaeologia Cantiana XXX 1914 pp.225-232 by A.A. Arnold, 1913 Local Studies collection Medway Archives and Local Studies Centre

Printed book The Laws of the Earliest English Kings F.L. Attenborough, 1922

Printed book The Making of English Law: King Alfred to the Twelfth Century - Volume I Legislation and its Limits Patrick Wormald 2001

Printed book The Beginnings of English Law L. Oliver, 2002

Printed article The List of Saxon Churches in the Textus Roffensis by G. Ward MD FSA Archaeologia Cantiana volume XLIV pp.39-59 1932

Printed book The History of Kent by J. Harris (q.v.) 1719: containing also a transcription and translation from the Anglo-Saxon text describing and concerning Rochester Bridge (at pp.260-261), Local Studies collection, Medway Archives and Local Studies Centre, ref. Y942HAR

Printed book A perambulation of Kent [etc.] by William Lambarde, first published 1576; reprinted 1826. Also containing a transcription and translation of the Anglo-Saxon text describing and concerning Rochester Bridge, (at pp. 347-352). Local Studies collection, Medway Archives and Local Studies Centre, ref. Y942LAM;

Printed book Diocesan Histories: Rochester by Rev. A.I. Pearman MA 1897 (ROC283)

Printed book The Bishops and Monks of Rochester 1076-1214 by Colin Flight, no. vi in monograph series, Kent Archaeological Society, 1997, copy in local studies collections at this centre, ref. ROC283FLI. This book, chapter 2, pp.17 et seq. includes information on the title of the document and a description of the document's composition.

The Prosopography of Anglo-Saxon England click here

Off-print of article entitled Palaeographical evidence for the compilation of Textus Roffensis by Dr. Carole A. Hough of the Department of English Language, Glasgow University, published in Scriptorium: international revue of manuscript studies Tome LV 2001,1 Archives Library OA/LIB/358

File updated by Borough Archivist, Medway Council 28 January 2008. Updated Nov 2014 by Archivist, Medway Council.


Date: 12th.-14th. centuries
Quantity: 1 volume 9 1/2" x 7" x 2 1/4" (240mm x 175mm x 55mm)
Result number 6 - Please quote Reference: Rochester_upon_Medway_City_Council_1973_1998/CT_ENG_002 on request slip.

Path: Local_Government_Authorities_1227_Date/ Rochester_upon_Medway_City_Council_1973_1998/ Technical_Department/ Engineers_Section/ CT_ENG_002.html

Records transferred by Engineers' Section, City Technical Department, Rochester upon Medway City Council comprising:

original and facsimile plans and sections of Chatham Southern Area Drainage Extensions and gravitation sewers undertaken by W.H. Radford and Son, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, civil engineers (1946);
similar for foul sewers, stormwater sewers and culverts for The Brook and George Street, Chatham Comprehensive Development Area, B. Walker, Borough Surveyor (1963);
sections, plans, elevations and block plans of The Brook Pumping Station (Low Level Pumping Station), Solomons Road, Chatham, by W.H. Radford and Son, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, civil engineers (1927);
and section, plan and details of repairs to wharfage at Strood Esplanade (1898)

Accession no.: MR4

See also: Five photographic negatives of Brook Pumping Station, Chatham reproduced from these, ref. M64

Date: 1898-[1963]
Quantity: 1 roll/c.20 items
Result number 7 - Please quote Reference: Rochester_upon_Medway_City_Council_1973_1998/CT_ENG_008 on request slip.

Path: Local_Government_Authorities_1227_Date/ Rochester_upon_Medway_City_Council_1973_1998/ Technical_Department/ Engineers_Section/ CT_ENG_008.html

Medway Borough Council drainage drawings for developments in Chatham including projects Med2 and Med4 and Princes Park Development (Med4), Chatham, mid-1970s, Ian A. Fraser, Director of Technical Services ( roll 1 of 2); facsimile drawings of gravitation, low level and storm water sewers, Chatham, by W.H. Radford & Son, Consulting Civil Engineers, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire and Rochester and Chatham Sewerage Works, c.1940s, (roll 2 of 2)
Date: c.1940s-mid-1970s
Quantity: 2 rolls
Result number 8 - Please quote Reference: Rochester_upon_Medway_City_Council_1973_1998/CT_ENG_015 on request slip.

Path: Local_Government_Authorities_1227_Date/ Rochester_upon_Medway_City_Council_1973_1998/ Technical_Department/ Engineers_Section/ CT_ENG_015.html

Engineers/Drainage Section

Roll 1 of 10: Chatham Borough Council contract drawings and sections, Nos. C20-26, Chatham Sewerage Scheme, Gravitation Sewers, by W.H. Radford & Son, of Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, chartered civil engineers, 7 sheets, c.1940;

roll 2 of 10: photogrammetric surveys (transparencies) of Allhallows-on-Sea from aerial photographs exposed by Hunting Aerosurveys Ltd., 4 Albemarle Street, London, prepared by Dolphin Development and Management Co. Ltd., Duncan House, Dolphin Square, London, sheet nos. 1, 2/1, and 5/4-5/8 c.1956, 7 sheets (Strood Rural District Council [?]);

roll 3 of 10: Chatham Borough Council and Medway Borough Council 25" OS maps marked with sewer connections (1932 edition), with sections and plans of sewers, manholes and culverts, c.1932-c.1977, 7 sheets;

roll 4 of 10: Chatham Borough Council facsimile 25" OS maps for Chatham Sewerage Scheme including storm water and foul drainage, gravitation and low level sewers and connections, with 6" OS coloured key map (W.H. Radford & Son), and Rochester City Council Rochester Bridge and Rochester area drawings 18" pumping main and 12" pumping main and 14" syphon (W. Law, engineer) (including original drawings on linen or cartridge paper), c.1934-c.1948, 26 sheets;

roll 5 of 10: Chatham Borough Council and Medway Borough Council, Princes Park Development, Chatham, Med2, Med4, site plans showing sewerage and drainage connections and mains and street lighting columns 1952-1978 with some drawings of Deangate Ridge Sports Complex, Hoo St. Werburgh, and schemes in Chatham 1970-1975, 22 sheets;

roll 6 of 10: Chatham Borough Council and Medway Borough Council housing site layouts or plans, Wayfield Road Housing Estate and Walderslade area, 1946-1978, H.D. Peake and R.L. Honey, successively Borough Engineers, Chatham, 14 sheets;

roll 7 of 10: Chatham Borough Council, Rochester City Council and Medway Borough Council housing site layouts and plans of sewerage and drainage schemes 1932-1974, 17 sheets;

roll 8 of 10: Chatham Borough Council (W.H. Radford), Rochester and Chatham Sewerage Scheme, surface water drainage site layouts and details 1925-1974 including manhole in HM Gun Wharf, Chatham 1927 and Rochester City Council/Medway Borough Council sewerage and drainage drawings includingStrood Pumping Station 24" steel rising main 1974;

roll 9 of 10: 25" OS maps 1932 edition of Chatham area marked with Chatham Main Drainage layout with section of Luton Second Relief Sewer 1946, 9 sheets;

roll 10 of 10: sections of Gravitation and Low Level Sewers, Chatham sewerage Scheme, by W.H. Radford, c.1925-c.1940, 11 sheets, paper on linen.
Date: 1925-1978
Quantity: 10 rolls/bundles


Result number 9 - Please quote Reference: Rochester_upon_Medway_City_Council_1973_1998/CT_ENG_A_1 on request slip.

Path: Local_Government_Authorities_1227_Date/ Rochester_upon_Medway_City_Council_1973_1998/ Technical_Department/ Engineers_Section/ CT_ENG_A_1.html

Chatham & Rochester drainage and main drainage plans and sections

Includes Gravitation sewers, Chatham Southern (Snodhurst) Area, storm water drainage and manholes and drawings by W.H. Radford & Son of Nottingham, Nottinghamshire and R.L. Honey FSI, Borough Engineer, Chatham

[DE99]
Date: 1935-1948
Quantity: 1 roll


Result number 10 - Please quote Reference: Strood_Rural_District_Council_1897_1974/SRDC_982 on request slip.

Path: Local_Government_Authorities_1227_Date/ Strood_Rural_District_Council_1897_1974/ 02_Treasurers_Department_1883_1974/ 05_Rating_and_Valuation_1897_1974/ 01_Organisation_and_Administration_1897_1974/ SRDC_982.html

Strood Rural District Council, Treasurer's Department, Rating and Valuation Section: organisation and administration

Facsimile plans of areas apparently drawn up in connection with rating and valuation work by or for Kent County Council or others and lodged with Strood RDC, comprising:

plan of Halling between the railway, River Medway, Ferry Road and tramway to north, centring on Halling Common, Halling Fresh Marsh and Halling Salt Marsh, showing river walls, drawn by G. Cubley Crowther, engineer to Kent Rivers Catchment Board, June 1944, signed by the District Valuer's Office, Maidstone (paper) (SRDC/982/1).

plan of Halling between the railway, River Medway, Ferry Road and tramway to north, centring on Halling Common, Halling Fresh Marsh and Halling Salt Marsh, showing river walls and land ownership, drawn by G. Cubley Crowther, engineer to Kent Rivers Catchment Board, August 1945, stamped by the District Valuer's Office, Maidstone (paper) (SRDC/982/2).

plan of site for residential development, High Street, Halling 1955 (paper) (SRDC/982/3).

plan of Hoo St. Werburgh between Vicarage Lane and Damhead Creek, showing area occupied by Kingsnorth Admiralty Air-ship station *, brick works and tramway at West Hoo Creek and Chattenden Naval Tramway, c.1920, stamped by Valuation Office, Inland Revenue, 8 Oxford Street, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire (linen) (SRDC/982/4).

plan showing boundaries in Hoo St. Werburgh, stamped by Admiralty Directorate of Works, 1914, apparently showing the airship station * site and showing railway in course of construction (paper) (SRDC/982/5).

plan of Hoo St. Werburgh and High Halstow showing certain plots tinted and numbered, Chattenden Naval Railway and railway in course of construction, c.1914 (SRDC/982/6).

site plan of Hoo [St. Werburgh] Central School, stamped by W.H. Robinson FRIBA, County Architect, Springfield, Maidstone and Buildings Department, Register of Sites 1936 (linen) (SRDC/982/7).

site plan of Halling and North Halling showing coloured areas, stamped by District Valuer's Office, Rochester and Kent County Council Planning Department 1956 (paper) (SRDC/982/8).

[These items form part of accession CEN/GM/2, DE9 and were passed by the Principal Administration Officer, Committee Section, Chief Exceutive's Department, Rochester upon Medway City Council, to the Guildhall Museum, Rochester prior to 1990]

[* For an illustrated article entitled From airship station to oil refinery see Coast and Country volume 8 no. 3 pp. 14-18, by Philip MacDougall, local studies collection.]

File updated by Borough Archivist, Medway Council 9 January 2001.

Date: 1914-1955
Quantity: 8 sheets
Result number 11 - Please quote Reference: DE0126_Deed_Hoo_Peninsula_1728/DE128_0_Intro on request slip.

Path: Unofficial_or_Privately_Originated_Collections/ DE0126_Deed_Hoo_Peninsula_1728/ DE128_0_Intro.html

Medway Archives and Local Studies Centre

DE126

Deed to land on the Hoo Peninsula 1728

Transferred from the Centre for Kentish Studies, Kent County Council, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone 1 July 1991

Donated by Mrs. S. Connery, 55 Heatherly Drive, Basford, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire 2 May 1991.

Listed by Medway Area Archivist (Archivist to Rochester upon Medway City Council) 2 July 1991

Edited for CityArk Phase II by Borough Archivist, Medway Council July 2000.

Date: N/A
Quantity: N/A
Result number 12 - Please quote Reference: DE0402_Couchman_ephemera_and_MSS_/DE0402_13 on request slip.

Path: Unofficial_or_Privately_Originated_Collections/ DE0402_Couchman_ephemera_and_MSS_/ DE0402_13.html

IMAGEBASE USERS PLEASE SCROLL DOWN

Important note to imagebase users.

Caveat and disclaimer.

Customers wishing to reproduce, print-off, download or publish images from this database or imagebase may require the permission of the owner of the Copyright of the original records. Publication by Medway Council of this database or imagebase does not imply a right on the part of the user to reproduce, print-off, download or publish the images or absolve the user from the need to obtain permission to reproduce items subject to Copyright. Medway Council has obtained permission from Copyright owners to reproduce images in this database or imagebase without prejudice to wider Copyright. Strictly no commercial or organisational reproduction, printing-off, downloading or publication of the images in this imagebase may be undertaken without the prior consent of Medway Council or the owner of the Copyright of the original records. No separate or independent databases or imagebases derived from this imagebase may be created for organisational or commercial purposes without the express permission of Medway Council or the Copyright owners. Where downloading of images is permissible it may only be done for reasons of private study. Private study is defined by the Patent Office and the definition is incorporated in the relevant legislation.

E.H. Couchman collection of postcards, photographs, ephemera and manuscripts pertaining to the history of the Medway Towns (Rochester, Strood, Chatham and Brompton (later Gillingham)) and Gillingham, Rainham, Gravesend, Dickens’ Country, the Lower Medway Valley and the Hoo Peninsula 1680-1993 [1994].

[To view the full list of the collection, please click here;

to view the contents page and imagebase referral page for the Couchman collection, please click here;

to view the Couchman collection bibliography page, please click here]

Strood volume 3:
Strood Intra and Frindsbury Intra and the River Medway at Strood and Frindsbury.

[Caution should be exercised in relation to house numbering quoted in descriptions, as in many cases this was altered, usually in phases (Rochester (including Strood Intra and Frindsbury Intra) in 1881, 1894, 1895 and c.1953; Chatham 1901, c.1904, c.1905 and 1927). Corroboration of street numbering can be made by reference to street directories in the local studies collections (on microfilm and microfiche and available by appointment) and the local authority street numbering registers (CT/ENG/46) also available by appointment.]

Frindsbury Intra.
Receipted bill from George H. Boucher *, Supply Stores, 1 Medway Terrace, Bill Street Road (later 125 Bill Street Road), Frindsbury, grocer and provision merchant to a Mr. Gower, for salt, coffee and starch, with heading comprising advertisement for Lightning Soap 16 September 1909. p.1

[* For a collection of business and domestic records of this shop c.1897 x c.1900 see collection DE434]

Frindsbury Intra.
Photograph of engraving entitled Higham Tunnel: as it existed before the construction of the North Kent Railway comprising view of Canal Basin looking north-west from eastern side of entrance to basin, showing sailing barge and rowing boats in basin, wooden barrels and cart on bank and bargees and other attendants. Reproduced by Mike G. Bondi, 92 Allington Drive, Strood. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to opening of canal in 1824, its length and financial failure. 6 ½” x 4 ¾” p.2

Frindsbury Intra.
Photograph of engraving entitled The Strood Terminus of the Gravesend and Rochester Railway in 1844 comprising view of area of former canal basin, looking north, showing railway line running from left of scene towards mouth of tunnel in middle-ground, cement factory in left middle-distance, bystanders and spectators in fore and middle-grounds, chalk cliff face under Frindsbury Hill and houses and windmills on Frindsbury Hill. Reproduced by Mike G. Bondi, 92 Allington Drive, Strood. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to the use of The Thames and Medway Canal after its use as a canal, by Gravesend and Rochester Railway and South-Eastern Railway and operation of first train on Christmas Day 1844 [?].6 ½” x 4 ¾” p.3

Frindsbury Intra.
Two receipts from Stewart Brothers and Spencer, Oil-seed Mills, Strood at their Paddock Wood store, to Henry Reader esq., Pike Fish, Yalding, for returned empty bags, 1888. p.4

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of Strood Basin locks looking north from point near junction of Canal Basin and River Medway, showing in foreground dredger vessel alongside spritsail barge Medina, in middle-ground wharf, crane, cement factory and Haymen railway rolling stock and in distance entrance to tunnel, chalk cliff underneath Frindsbury Hill and two windmills and other buildings on Frindsbury Hill. Couchman’s accompanying notes indicate the original print was held at Rochester Library, Northgate, Rochester, whose local studies collections were passed to this office in 1993. 6” x 4 ¼” (155mm x 115mm) 1905. p.5

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of entrance to Strood Dock looking north-west from point south-east of lock gates, showing at left mooring post, railway rolling stock and goods shed on Victoria Wharf, and in distance several sailing and steam vessels moored in Strood Dock. Couchman’s accompanying notes indicate the goods shed was used as a corn store, whose proprietors were Messrs. A.E. Chambers and that the shed burnt down in 1916. 6” x 4” (150mm x 100mm) Before 1916 p.6

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of Strood Dock looking north-west from lock gates, showing in left foreground travelling crane and two steam tugs, in right middle-ground the steam vessel Condor of Anvers [cf. Antwerp], Belgium and in distance entrance to railway tunnel, chalk cliff under Frindsbury Hill and houses in Banks Road, Frindsbury. 8 ¼” x 6 ¼” (210mm x 160mm) Original exposed before 1922 p.7

Frindsbury Intra.
Cutting from Chatham News comprising article by Dennis Pearce entitled Impressive engineering feat to vanish under pile of rubble, with photograph of Strood Dock and locks looking south-east across the River Medway (Bridge Reach) from Frindsbury Hill towards Gas House Point, Rochester, showing London to Strood railway line in right of view, railway goods sidings in middle-ground, Railway Tavern (later Riverside Tavern) (No.8 Canal Road, Strood) and group of industrial buildings in middle distance and Acorn Wharf, Rochester and gas tanks in distance. Published 18 January 1985. Couchman’s accompanying notes state the dock was filled in in 1986. p.8

Frindsbury Intra.
Postcard photograph entitled By the pier at Strood comprising view looking south west from Strood Pier pontoon along frontage of wharves on the River Medway, showing right to left Mill Wharf (British Oil and Cake Mills), Barnett’s Wharf (Cranfields Flour Depot), North Kent Wharf and Medway Wharf (Horsnaill and Reynolds, corn and seed merchants) (all Frindsbury Intra) and Watermill Wharf (Strood Intra). In foreground on pontoon are two girls minding push-chair, rowing boat moored to pontoon, in middle-ground spritsail sailing barge and bargee and in middle distance beached barges and sailing vessels. c.1920 x c.1929 p.9 (U)

Frindsbury Intra.
Postcard photograph entitled Strood Pier comprising view of River Medway looking south from point near junction of River Medway and canal basin locks towards Rochester, showing in foreground moored rowing boats or dobles and fishing boat or bawley boat, several with smelt nets hanging to dry, in middle-ground River Medway (Bridge Reach), Strood Pier and Rochester Railway Bridge and in distance, left to right, Acorn Wharf, lighters, spritsail barges, Rochester Cathedral and Rochester Castle keep. On rear, message from Francis (Frank) [-] to Mr. Victor (Vic) Flanders, 12 Woodland Road, Upper Norwood, London SE, discussing travelling arrangements and mentioning a Beatrice (Beat). Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. Postmarked Rochester 3 December 1908. p.9 (L)

Frindsbury Intra.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Strood, the pier comprising view of River Medway (Bridge Reach) looking north-east from wharves at Frindsbury Intra towards Frindsbury Peninsula (Frindsbury Extra), showing in foreground rowing boats or dobles, two with occupants, in middle-ground hut and Strood Pier with paddle steamer Princess of Wales moored alongside, in near distance three-masted sailing ship and four-masted sailing ship, latter probably Bannockburn of Greenock, Ayrshire, Scotland and in far distance cement factories and chimney stacks on Frindsbury Peninsula. On rear, message from S. G[-] to Miss L. Humphrey, 47 Harbour Road, Whitstable, discussing health and travel. Postmarked Rochester 4 July 1905. p.10

Frindsbury Intra.
* Photograph of mechanical bucket dredger, registered in Southampton, Hampshire, in deep water berth off Strood Pier in River Medway (Bridge Reach), looking aft and showing dredging buckets and operator. 4 ¼” x 2 ½” (110mm x 65mm) Summer 1926 p.11 (U) (left)

Frindsbury Intra.
* Photograph of mechanical bucket dredger, registered in Southampton, Hampshire, in deep water berth off Strood Pier in River Medway (Bridge Reach), looking at starboard side from south bank of river [?], wharves visible in distance. 4 ¼” x 2 ½” (110mm x 65mm) Summer 1926 p.11 (U) (right)

Frindsbury Intra.
* Photograph of bucket conveyor on mechanical bucket dredger, registered in Southampton, Hampshire, in deep water berth off Strood Pier in River Medway (Bridge Reach), looking athwartships from starboard side. 4 ¼” x 2 ½” (110mm x 65mm) Summer 1926 p.11 (L) (left)

Frindsbury Intra.
* Photograph of aft superstructure of mechanical bucket dredger, registered in Southampton, Hampshire, moored alongside in Bridge Reach, River Medway, looking from port quarter and showing dockside. 4 ¼” x 2 ½” (110mm x 65mm) Summer 1926 p.11 (L) (right)

[* Couchman’s accompanying notes state the original negatives were donated to Rochester upon Medway City Archives in 1994. See collection DE327]

Strood Extra.
Photograph of the River Medway between Rochester Bridge and Cuxton, looking south-west from the Rochester foot of Rochester Bridge towards Temple Marsh, Strood, showing the river frozen and in distance from left to right, Wickham Cement Works (Strood Extra), Temple Marsh, Tower Reach foreshore at Strood, entrance to Janes’ Creek, Strood and river wall in Strood Intra. Mason Collection. 21 January 1940. 4 ½” x 3 ½” (110mm x 87mm) p.12 (U)

Rochester.
Photograph of Rochester Esplanade and environs looking south from Rochester Bridge, showing in foreground part of wall of bridge and River Medway (Bridge Reach) frozen-over and in distance, left to right, Castle Club (no.3 Esplanade), spire of Rochester Cathedral, Bridge Chapel and Chamber, Castle Hill, north-west bastion of Rochester Castle, castle grounds and bandstand, castle keep and western curtain wall, Rochester Pier and Watts’ Charity Swimming Baths. Mason Collection. 21 January 1940. 4 ½” x 3 ½” (110mm x 87mm) p.12 (L) (left)

Rochester.
Photograph of Rochester Pier and Esplanade looking west from The Terrace, Rochester Castle Gardens, towards Temple Marsh, Strood, showing in foreground Esplanade carriageway, pavement on north side of carriageway and balustrade, woman onlooker (possibly Mrs. Glanvill Mason), in left middle ground Rochester Pier with pedestrians on pier and pontoons, in middle-ground River Medway (Tower Reach) frozen-over and in distance Strood Extra and Temple Marsh with hills and fields beyond. Mason Collection. 21 January 1940. 4 ½” x 3 ½” (110mm x 87mm) p.12 (L) (right)

Rochester.
Photograph of mudflats on south bank of River Medway (Tower Reach) at Rochester, looking from Rochester foreshore, showing in foreground mudflats covered in sheets of ice, in middle-ground Rochester Cruising Club jetty and pleasure craft and in distance River Medway (Tower Reach) frozen-over, Temple Marsh, Strood, chimneys of Wickham Cement Works and other factories. 3 ½” x 3 ½” (90mm x 90mm) January 1963 p.13 (U)

Frindsbury Extra.
Photograph of River Medway at Bridge Reach looking north-east from Frindsbury Intra towards Frindsbury Peninsula (Frindsbury Extra), showing in fore and middle-grounds ice-bound rowing boats and lighters and in distance industrial premises on Frindsbury Peninsula. 3 ½” x 3 ½” (90mm x 90mm) January 1963 p.13 (L) (left)

Frindsbury Extra.
Photograph of River Medway at Bridge Reach looking south-west from Frindsbury Intra towards Rochester Bridge, showing lighter and other vessels ice-bound, crane at Watermill Wharf and Rochester Railway Bridge in distance. 3 ½” x 3 ½” (90mm x 90mm) January 1963 p.13 (L) (right)

Frindsbury Extra.
Photograph of Strood Pier looking north-west from pontoon or vessel moored alongside, showing footbridge leading from concrete and steel structure on foreshore, wharves, rowing boats moored to pier supports and River Medway (Bridge Reach) frozen-over. 3 ½” x 3 ½” (90mm x 90mm) January 1963 p.14 (U)

Frindsbury Extra.
Photograph of wharves at Frindsbury Intra looking south-west from point near Strood Pier, showing in foreground beached and moored fishing and pleasure vessels, in middle ground cargo ship registered at Naestved or Haestved, Denmark, moored alongside, cranes, scrap iron and River Medway (Bridge Reach) frozen over and in distance Rochester Railway Bridge. 3 ½” x 3 ½” (90mm x 90mm) January 1963 p.14 (L) (left)

Frindsbury Extra.
Photograph of River Medway (Bridge Reach) frozen over at Frindsbury Intra, looking north-east from Frindsbury Intra towards Frindsbury Peninsula (Frindsbury Extra), showing moored rowing boats, herd or bevy of swans and wharf or pier in foreground, river covered in ice in fore and middle grounds and distance and Frindsbury Peninsula in distance. 3 ½” x 3 ½” (90mm x 90mm) January 1963 p.14 (L) (right)

Frindsbury Intra.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Wesleyan Church, Strood comprising view of Strood Methodist Church looking north towards church from point diagonally opposite and to west of junction with Stonehorse Lane (later Cliffe Road), showing left to right, part of Red Lion Inn (no. 1 Frindsbury Road), entrance to Stonehorse Lane, church, bystanders and motor car. On rear, message from Frederick [-] to Miss N. Day, 9 Mayfieldgrove Meadows, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, discussing visit to Grays, Essex, weather and purchase of implements. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to planning and opening of church 1887 and re-naming of Stonehorse Lane. c.1892 x c.1894. Postmarked London NW 4 September 1905. p.15

Frindsbury Intra.
Colour photograph of street frontage of Methodist Church Sunday School, Cliffe Road, Strood, looking north from point diagonally opposite and to south, showing street frontage of building, stone and brass inscriptions and pavement and carriageway. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to laying of foundation stone in 1898 and also comprise transcriptions of the stone and brass tablets. Photographer: E.H. Couchman. 11 August 1987. p.16

Frindsbury Intra.
Photocopy of photograph entitled Strood and Frindsbury Voluntary Aid Detachment (VAD) Hospital, Darnley Ward, Wesley Hall comprising interior view of Strood Methodist Church Sunday School looking diagonally across hall towards windows, showing nurses, patients, tables and beds. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to design, execution and presentation by Strood VAD Hospital Committee to the church of a brass tablet commemorating their use of hall as an auxiliary hospital by St. John’s VAD during Great War 1914-1918, transcription given. Original exposed c.1916 x c.1918 p.17

Frindsbury Intra.
Postcard photograph entitled Strood and Frindsbury Voluntary Aid Detachment Hospital, arrival of a convoy comprising view of parked motor ambulance and group of St. John’s Ambulance Brigade orderlies, nurses, walking wounded, stretcher casualties, Boy Scout, army officer and soldier, last in service dress presumed members of Royal Army Medical Corps (RAMC), all looking at camera and standing in front of Claremont House, 2 Frindsbury Road, Strood, in use as an auxiliary hospital by Strood VAD Hospital Committee. Gable and roof of 42 North Street visible in distance and tram lines and carriageway in foreground. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to ownership of premises by Strood Workmen’s Club and presentation of brass tablet commemorating use of hall as an auxiliary hospital by St. John’s VAD during Great War 1914-1918, transcription given. Photographer: Thomas E. Howe, Chatham. Original exposed 2 July 1916

[cf. collection DE393 for photograph from same negative. The depositor of collection DE393 identifies the figure second from right as Hartnell Webb, landlord of the Eagle Tavern, High Street, Rochester]

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of range of buildings comprising 91-103 Frindsbury Road, Strood, looking west from point diagonally opposite and slightly to east, showing street frontage of weather-boarded houses, tram lines, carriageway, tram power line columns and women and children bystanders, all looking at camera. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to closing and demolition of houses 1920-1922. 6 ¼” x 4 ½” (160mm x 117mm) Original exposed c.1920 p.19

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of range of buildings comprising range of houses in Frindsbury Hill, Strood, up to and including Marlborough Head public house (no.90), looking uphill east i.e. from point diagonally opposite and slightly to west, showing weather-boarded houses, woman standing in doorway looking at camera, carriageway and tram lines. Couchman’s accompanying notes advise the numbers inked onto the original print do not correspond to the house numbering and pertain to history of public house 1787-1899. 6” x 4 3/8” (155mm x 110mm) Original exposed before 1907. p.20

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of The Bell public house, Frindsbury Road, Strood, looking south from point diagonally opposite and slightly to north of junction with Church Green, showing Church Green and Frindsbury Road frontages, three bystanders and dog, inn sign, signage advertising Meux and Co.’s brilliant ales and double stout and advertising placards outside adjoining shop in Frindsbury Road. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to history of public house 1841-1907. 6” x 4 /12” (155mm x 115mm) p.21

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of The Bell public house, Frindsbury Road, Strood, looking north-west from Church Green and showing rear of premises, outbuilding and in foreground iron railing and gates leading from Church Green to Frindsbury Road. 7” x 5” (178mm x 127mm) Original exposed before 1907 p.22

Frindsbury Intra.
Print from engraving, entitled Frindsbury Church, Kent comprising view of church and churchyard looking from south, showing trees, onlookers and gravestones. Published by Rook and Co., London 15 December 1858. p.23 (U)

Frindsbury Intra.
Print from engraving, entitled Frindsbury, Kent, South East comprising view of church and churchyard looking from east, showing weather vane, trees, gravestones and path. Drawn by Fisher and engraved by F. Cary [?]. Cut from Gentleman’s Magazine October 1803. p.23 (L)

Frindsbury Intra.
Photograph of Frindsbury Church and churchyard looking from south, also showing trees, path and gravestones. Photographer: C. Biskeborn. 5 ½” x 3 ¾” (140mm x 95mm) c.1880 p.24 (U)

Frindsbury Intra.
Photograph of Frindsbury Church and churchyard looking from south, also showing trees, path and gravestones. 3 ¼” x 2 ¼” (80mm x 58mm) c.1880 p.24 (L)

Frindsbury Intra.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Frindsbury Church comprising view looking from south, also showing churchyard, trees, path and gravestones. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to church’s early existence and maintenance 1107-1127. c.1905 p.25 (U)

Frindsbury Intra.
Postcard photograph entitled Frindsbury Church comprising view looking from south, also showing churchyard, trees, path and gravestones. On rear, message from E. F[-] to a Miss Toates, 8 Grove Road, Strood, offering her the card for her collection. Postmarked Rochester 17 September 1904 p.25 (L)

Frindsbury Intra.
Head and shoulders photograph of Rev. James Formby, vicar of Frindsbury, showing subject looking to left of camera. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to Formby’s support for Rev. Robert Whiston, headmaster of the Rochester Cathedral Grammar School (King’s School, Rochester), laying out of avenue of trees in Church Green and involvement in cement manufacture at Whitewall (Frindsbury Intra), Upnor (Frindsbury Extra) and Halling. 3 1/8” x 2 5/8” (80mm x 68mm) c.1880 p.26 (U)

Frindsbury Intra.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Frindsbury Church and avenue comprising view church looking from north-west, showing in foreground road and avenue of trees running through Church Green towards west end of church, bystander, gateway through wall surrounding churchyard and west end of church and church tower and spire. Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. c.1905 x c.1910 p.26 (L)

Frindsbury Intra.
Tyepscript transcription of part of Trees and Shrubs by F.A. Bush, 1964 pertaining to Maclura Pomifera (Osage Orange) tree, example of which grows in avenue on Church Green with accompanying notes by Couchman also pertaining to tree and Rochester and District Natural History Society and Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, Surrey’s research into same, noting tree suffered storm damage in 1981. p.27

Frindsbury Intra.
Cutting from Chatham News comprising article entitled River tragedy that shook the towns from the Memories column by Ted Connolly, reporting on the Rochester Bridge Disaster of Friday 13 September 1816 when 14 persons died on return leg of boat trip from Chatham to Halling, particularly mentioning boatman Thomas Lear, Thomas Gilbert, the organiser and the female boarders of latter’s boarding school in Clover Street, Chatham, with photograph of county councillor Ron Foster, local historian and founder of Medway Heritage Centre (formerly St. Mary’s Church), Dock Road, Chatham kneeling at gravestone of Lear in Frindsbury churchyard. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to a printed source, A narrative of the distressing accident which occurred at Rochester Bridge on the 13 September 1816 by William Stern Palmer, 1817. 13 September 1991. p.28

Frindsbury Intra.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Frindsbury Church comprising view looking from north, showing churchyard, gravestones, bushes and visitors. Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. Before 1918. p.29

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of ruined smock mill off Powlett Road on Frindsbury Hill, variously named Frindsbury Mill, Kimmins’ Mill or House Mill, looking south-east, showing roads in foreground, pile of rubble, mill and outbuildings in middle-ground and terraced houses in distance. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to operation, dereliction and demolition of mill 1819-1931. 4 ¾” x 3 ½” (120mm x 90mm) Before 1931. p.30 (U)

Frindsbury Intra.
Photograph of ruined smock mill off Powlett Road on Frindsbury Hill, variously named Frindsbury Mill, Kimmins’ Mill or House Mill, looking south-east, showing roads in foreground, pile of rubble, mill, group of children and adult and outbuildings and in middle-ground and terraced houses in distance. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to operation, dereliction and demolition of mill 1819-1931. 5” x 3 7/8” (128mm x 98mm) Before 1931. p.30 (L)

Frindsbury Intra.
Receipted bill from Thomas Ring and Son, 46 later 2 Grove Road, Strood, contractors for removals, to a Mr. Rayner of 16 Temple Gardens, Cuxton Road, Strood for removal from 22 Horsley Road, Rochester to 16 Temple Gardens as above. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to Ring’s premises 1891-1921. 21 November 1922. p.31

Strood.
Copy of photograph of junction of High Street and Station Road, Strood, looking north from point in High Street slightly to east of junction, showing left to right, advertising hoardings, bystanders, Newark Cottage (no.1 Station Road) and The Amalgamation public house (no.2), bill posters advertising The earl and the girl, Theatre Royal, High Street, Chatham, Camp Coffee, Colman’s Starch, Cakeoma cake, Wills’ Westward Ho! Smoking mixtures and Kate Lawrence, The Darlyles and Emlyn Jones at the Gaiety Theatre [?] or during Gaiety Week [?]. 6 3/10” x 4 3/8” (160mm x 110mm) April 1906 p.32

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of two smock windmills on Prospect Hill, Frindsbury, possibly looking south-east, showing on left The Little Mill or Manwaring’s Mill with outbuildings and on right The Great Mill or Rose’s Mill, latter surrounded by onlookers, children and horse and cart, one onlooker standing on circumferential platform, with fields and wooden fence in foreground. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to history and proprietorship of both mills citing Ordnance Survey maps 1769-1843 and W. Coles Finch’s book Watermills and Windmills as sources. 6 3/10” x 4 1/8” (160mm x 116mm). Original exposed before c.1886 p.33

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of derelict base of Great Mill or Rose’s Mill on Prospect Hill, Frindsbury, subsequent to demolition of tower and conversion into two cottages, 65-67 Windmill Street. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to history of premises and proprietorship 1890-c.1945. Reproduced by Fine Art Studio, 11 Frindsbury Road, Strood. 7” x 5” (178mm x 127mm). Original exposed before c.1939. p.34

Frindsbury Extra.
Copy of photograph of front elevation of Quarry House, Windmill Hill, Frindsbury, looking from point diagonally opposite and slightly to south, showing weather-boarded extension on left. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to history of site and ownership and citing secondary sources Archaeologia Cantiana volume xvii pp.169-180 (1887) and Henry Smetham’s History of Strood 1899. 6 ¼” x 4 ½” (158mm x 116mm) Original exposed before 1897. p.35

Frindsbury Extra.
Copy of photograph believed of rear elevation of Quarry House, Windmill Hill, Frindsbury, possibly looking from south-west, showing dilapidated brick building with gables, weather-boarded outbuilding and two onlookers. Reproduced by Fine Art Studio, 11 Frindsbury Road, Strood. 7” x 5” (178mm x 127mm). Original exposed before 1897. p.36

Frindsbury Intra.
Copy of photograph of industrial sites in Frindsbury Intra alongside River Medway, looking south from Windmill Hill towards Rochester, showing in foreground Kent Electric Power Co. power station, quarry and chalk cliff, in middle-ground wharves, and crane, middle-distance River Medway (Bridge Reach), lighters, other vessels and industrial buildings in Strood and in distance left to right, Gas House Point, Acorn Wharf, Rochester Cathedral, Rochester Castle keep, Rochester Bridge and Temple Marsh. 8 1/5” x 5 3/10” (210mm x 160mm) Original exposed c.1925 p.37

Frindsbury Extra.
Copy of photograph of Frindsbury Peninsula looking south from Windmill Hill, Frindsbury towards Chatham Ness, showing in foreground discharge pit of Kent Electric Power Co. power station, disused chalk pit, in middle-ground cement factories (running from north to south, Phoenix Cement Works, Globe Cement Works, Bridge Cement Works, Crown Cement Works, Quarry Portland Cement Works and Beehive Cement Works) and River Medway (Limehouse Reach) and in distance, left to right, North Downs, HM Dockyard, Chatham, St. Mary’s Church, Chatham, Chatham Extra, Chatham Intra and industrial facilities on The Common, Rochester. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to establishment of Kent Electric Power Co. 1906-1907. 5 ½” x 3 3/8” (138mm x 87mm) Original exposed c.1925 p.38

Frindsbury Extra.
Photograph of discharge area of Kent Electric Power Co. power station in disused chalk pit on Frindsbury Peninsula, looking north, showing in left middle-ground discharge outlets and in right middle-ground crystalloid stalactite formations and in background chalk cliff comprising southern edge of Frindsbury Hill. 6” x 4 ¼” (153mm x 117mm) c.1925 p.39 (U)

Frindsbury Extra.
Photograph of discharge area of Kent Electric Power Co. power station in disused chalk pit on Frindsbury Peninsula, looking east, showing in foreground crystalloid stalagmite formations, in middle-ground crystalloid stalactite formations and in background chalk cliff comprising western edge of Windmill Hill. 6” x 4 ¼” (153mm x 117mm) c.1925 p.39 (L)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Photograph of St. Mary’s Church, Vicarage Road, Strood, looking from the south, showing spire, entrance porch and transept, churchyard and boundary wall and rear of terraced houses in Grove Road in distance. 3 3/8” x 2 ¼” (87mm x 58mm) c.1890 p.40 (U)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Photograph of St. Mary’s Church, Vicarage Road, Strood, looking from the south-west, showing west end, spire, nave and top of south transept with trees, wooden fence and walkways surrounding and two bystanders in right foreground. 5 ½” x 4 ¼” (140mm 110mm) c.1890 p.40 (L)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Postcard photograph entitled Strood, St. Mary’s Church comprising view of church looking the south-west, showing west end, spire, porch, nave and top of south transept with trees, iron gates, boundary wall, lamp post and pedestrians in foreground. On rear, message from G. S [?][-] to a Miss Acres of 4 Guildford Lawn, Dover, discussing weather and cycling. Published by Wrench and printed in Saxony, Germany. Postmarked Maidstone 2 May 1905. p.41/1

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Cuttings from St. Nicholas with St. Mary parish magazine (p.41/2-3) and Chatham News and Medway Extra reporting closure of St. Mary’s Church in 1993, two with photographs (p.41/4-6)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Photograph of interior of St. Mary’s Church, Vicarage Road, Strood, looking east along nave and showing east window (stained glass), chancel, altar, communion rail, lectern, pulpit, pews, aisle and font. 3 5/8” x 2 ¼” (93mm x 57mm) c.1890 p. 42 (U)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Postcard photograph entitled St. Mary’s Church, Strood, interior comprising view of nave and chancel looking east and showing east window (stained glass), chancel, altar, communion rail, lectern, choir stalls, pews, aisle and churchwardens’ wands of office. Published by W. and H. Town, Strood. c.1926 p.42 (L)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Printed programme for recitations at St. Mary’s schoolroom, Vicarage Road, Strood by Colonel Francis Charles Hughes-Hallett MP on 27 April 1886. Printed by Sweet and Sons, Strood. Couchman’s accompanying notes refer to H. Smetham’s Sketches Prose and Rhymes, 1889. p.43

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Postcard group photograph of Rev. Hubert Harold Treacher, curate (left) and Rev. Lempriere Durell Hammond, vicar (right), latter sitting and both wearing cassocks, holding trenchers and looking at camera. Couchman’s accompanying notes describe each clergyman’s career and biographical sources, mentioning Treacher was an apprentice at Chatham Dockyard Technical College prior to 1914, was curate of St. Mary’s 1920-1925, vicar 1925-1929 and ultimately general secretary and head of the Church Army 1942-1949; and mentioning Hammond was vicar of St. Mary’s 1918-1928 ultimately becoming a canon of Lichfield Cathedral, Lichfield, Staffordshire in 1934. Photographer: Karise West, Rochester. c.1920 x c.1925 p.44

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Cutting from Chatham News comprising article reporting appointment of Rev. Hubert Harold Treacher, curate of St. Mary’s as vicar in succession to Rev. Lempriere Durell Hammond and mentioning his service with the East Kent Regiment (The Buffs) in France, Singapore and Mesopotamia [cf. Iraq, Irak] during First World War. 7 August 1925 p.45 (left)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Docket bearing manuscript quotation comprising John Oxenham’s verse:

To every man there openeth,
A High way and a Low,
And every man decideth the
Way his soul shall go.

Signed by Lempriere D. Hammond, vicar 29 September 1925. p.45 (U)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Docket bearing manuscript quotation comprising William Shakespeare’s verse:

There is a tide in the affairs of man, if
taken at the flood, leads to
fortune

Signed by Hubert H. Treacher, curate, 18 January 1925 p.45 (M)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Docket bearing manuscript quotation comprising verse, author not ascribed:

If that which shines afar so grand,
Turns but to shadow in the hand,
On again! The glory lies
In the struggle; not the prize.
Signed by Hubert H. Treacher, vicar 19 November 1929 p.45 (L)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Cutting from Medway Extra comprising article by Bill Snook [alias H. Townsend?] reminiscing about his boyhood playing billiards in St. Mary’s Hall, with group photograph of Rev. H.H. Treacher, curate [Rev. Charles Edmond Preston?] and members of boys’ club [?] posing in front of church or hall. [Couchman’s dating of 1921 is almost certainly mistaken unless Treacher was curate at the time but even so in the group Treacher is sitting centrally. The article describes Treacher as rector in 1921 but he became rector in 1925.] c.1925 x c.1929 p.46

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
* Photograph of boys from St. Mary the Virgin Boys’ Club, Strood, washing dirty plates during summer camp at former Royal Naval Air Station, Isle of Grain, under supervision of Rev. H.H. Treacher, vicar of St. Mary’s, subjects standing around bucket with accommodation blocks in background. Couchman’s accompanying notes state the boys were transported by a Mr. Lyle by lorry. 4 ½” x 2 ¾” (112mm x 73mm) August 1927. p.47

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
* Group photograph of members of St. Mary the Virgin Boys’ Club, Strood, bathing in the sea at the Isle of Grain, on occasion of summer camp, camera looking out to sea, subjects looking at camera with spritsail barge and cargo ships in distance. Subjects include Ted Small, third from right, Rev. H.H. Treacher, vicar of St. Mary’s, fifth from right and supporting boy on his right shoulder and E.J. Barnes (of 25 Bowes Road, Frindsbury), camp cook, eighth from right and supporting boy on his left shoulder. 4 ½” x 2 ¾” (112mm x 73mm) 31 August 1927. p.48 (U)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
* Group photograph of members of St. Mary the Virgin Boys’ Club, Strood, bathing in the sea at the Isle of Grain, on occasion of summer camp, camera looking out to sea, subjects looking at camera with spritsail barge and cargo ships in distance. Subjects include Ted Small first on right (at rear), Rev. H.H. Treacher, vicar of St. Mary’s, third from right, Percy Small, standing to Treacher’s right, at rear and E.H. Couchman, tall youth to Small’s right, at rear. 4 ½” x 2 ¾” (112mm x 73mm) 31 August 1927. p.48 (L)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
* Group photograph of members of St. Mary the Virgin Boys’ Club, Strood and visiting parents, on occasion of summer camp at former Royal Naval Air Station, Isle of Grain, subjects facing camera and showing corrugated iron accommodation block in background. Subjects include Rev. H.H. Treacher, vicar of St. Mary’s at far left and E.J. Barnes (of 25 Bowes Road, Frindsbury), camp cook, standing at far right of main group and wearing chef’s hat. 4 ½” x 2 ¾” (112mm x 73mm) 31 August 1927. p.49 (U)

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
* Group photograph of parents of boys attending St. Mary the Virgin Boys’ Club summer camp at former Royal Naval Air Station, Isle of Grain, subjects facing camera and showing corrugated iron accommodation block in background. Subjects include Mr. E. Couchman, second from left and Mrs. E. Couchman, fourth from left. Couchman’s accompanying notes indicate the parents visited by coach. 4 ½” x 2 ¾” (112mm x 73mm) 31 August 1927. p.49 (L)

[* pp. 47-49: Couchman’s accompanying notes state the negatives of the these prints were deposited with Rochester upon Medway City Archives, see deposit DE327]

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Stencil programme for tea and entertainment at St. Mary’s school rooms, Vicarage Road, Strood 5 February 1879, stencil made with Thomas Edison’s [?] Electric Pen duplicating machine. Copy inscribed by Maud Sharp Stephenson 5 February 1879. p.50

Frindsbury Intra: St. Mary’s Church.
Printed programme for grand vocal and instrumental concert at St. Mary’s School rooms, Vicarage Road, Strood on 8 May 1879, instrumentalists provided by string band of Royal Marines. Printed by James Taylor, Rainham and Strood. Inscribed on rear Maud [Sharp Stephenson?] p.51

Strood Intra.
Colour photograph of former Rochester City Council volunteer fire brigade station, Station Road, Strood, looking north from point on west side of Station Road and slightly to south, showing in left foreground entrance to Friary Place, in middle-ground building with signboard of G. Ripley, second-hand wood dealer, stacks of planks leaning against building and trees, bushes and in background embankment of London Victoria main railway line and waiting or passing British Rail passenger train. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to history of use of premises 1899-1990. Photographer: E.H. Couchman. 5 ¾” x 4” (147mm x 100mm) 24 October 1988 p.52

Frindsbury Intra.
Cuttings from Chatham Rochester and Gillingham News comprising headline Startling evidence as pit fears are soothed p.53

Frindsbury Intra.
Re-print of article from Chatham Rochester and Gillingham News of 28 November 1930 as reproduced in Chatham News of 1 December 1967 reporting landslide at home of Mr. and Mrs. A. Walter of 1 Bingham Road, Frindsbury. 1 December 1967. p.54

Frindsbury Intra.
Cuttings from Chatham News comprising articles entitled Probe proves area is riddled with tunnels reporting on subsidence in Strood, mentioning Watermill Street, West Street, Windmill Street and Prospect Avenue and That pit – and new light on what’s underground reporting on research papers compiled by W. Coles Finch, engineer to Strood and Chatham Water Companies, in 1909, in possession of L.H.C. Searle of Prospect Avenue, Strood, retired teacher *, and experiences of local people. With photographs of Mrs. Emily Edwards of Windmill Street, Mr. William and Mrs. Nancy Landers (formerly Miss Nancy Walters of Bingham Road) and Mr. and Mrs. George Butcher of Windmill Street 1 December 1967 pp.55-57

[* These papers would appear to be those deposited with Rochester upon Medway City Archives by Mr. Searle’s estate in 1994, see deposit DE351]

Frindsbury Intra.
Cutting from Chatham News comprising statement made by Rochester City Council concerning its response to subsidence that caused loss of life in Strood on 21 November 1967 [victim Mrs. Jean Thompson]. 1 December 1967 p.58

Frindsbury Intra.
Cutting from Chatham News comprising article entitled Call for urgent action over dangerous holes reporting Rochester upon Medway Borough Council’s response to subsidence in Frindsbury. 9 January 1981. p.59

Frindsbury Intra.
Cutting from Chatham, Rochester and Gillingham News entitled New fear as 11-year old death hole re-appears: council seals off village alleyway to prevent repeat of 1968 [sic] tragedy with photograph of subsidence in vicinity of West Street, Frindsbury. 9 March 1979. p.60

Frindsbury Intra.
Cutting from Chatham News entitled Shock for couple as a 30ft. chasm threatens house: back garden hole filled up with 125 tons of concrete reporting subsidence at home of Mr. Alan d’Alvarez and Susan Johncock, Bingham Road, Frindsbury, with photograph of couple in back garden. 22 March 1985 p.61

Frindsbury Intra.
Cutting from Chatham News entitled Anne recalls frightening saga of Frindsbury’s gaping chasms by Dennis Pearce with photograph of Mrs. Anne Landers of Laburnum Road, Strood, formerly of Bingham Road, Frindsbury, relating to subsidence. Couchman’s accompanying notes state the Christian name should be Nancy not Anne. 29 March 1985 p.62

Frindsbury Intra.
Cuttings from Chatham News entitled Survey will be commissioned over huge hole in back garden (26 April 1985) and Help is needed to fill big holes in mystery (24 January 1985). p.63

Frindsbury Intra.
Colour photograph of Methodist Chapel, Frindsbury Road, Strood, looking east across Frindsbury Road from point diagonally opposite and to west, showing street frontage and western elevation, traffic lights, hatchback car waiting at lights, street furniture, hydrant sign, yellow lines, pedestrian barriers and adjoining buildings. Typewritten accompanying notes comprise extract from Henry Smetham’s History of Strood (1899) pertaining to history of Methodism in Strood 1800-1899. Photographer: E.H. Couchman. 11 August 1987 p.64

Frindsbury Intra.
Photocopies of notices placed in Chatham News by Rochester City Council pertaining to removal of gravestones and human remains at Methodist Chapel, Frindsbury Road, Strood in connection with Rochester Corporation Tramways and Improvements Act (1903), 1905 and 1907. p.65

File updated by Borough Archivist 9 June 2005

Date: [1824] 1803-1988 [1994]
Quantity: 1 volume/65pp.
Result number 13 - Please quote Reference: DE0402_Couchman_ephemera_and_MSS_/DE0402_18 on request slip.

Path: Unofficial_or_Privately_Originated_Collections/ DE0402_Couchman_ephemera_and_MSS_/ DE0402_18.html

IMAGEBASE USERS PLEASE SCROLL DOWN

Important note to imagebase users

Caveat and disclaimer

Customers wishing to reproduce, print-off, download or publish images from this database or imagebase may require the permission of the owner of the Copyright of the original records. Publication by Medway Council of this database or imagebase does not imply a right on the part of the user to reproduce, print-off, download or publish the images or absolve the user from the need to obtain permission to reproduce items subject to Copyright. Medway Council has obtained permission from Copyright owners to reproduce images in this database or imagebase without prejudice to wider Copyright. Strictly no commercial or organisational reproduction, printing-off, downloading or publication of the images in this imagebase may be undertaken without the prior consent of Medway Council or the owner of the Copyright of the original records. No separate or independent databases or imagebases derived from this imagebase may be created for organisational or commercial purposes without the express permission of Medway Council or the Copyright owners. Where downloading of images is permissible it may only be done for reasons of private study. Private study is defined by the Patent Office and the definition is incorporated in the relevant legislation.

E.H. Couchman collection of postcards, photographs, ephemera and manuscripts pertaining to the history of the Medway Towns (Rochester, Strood, Chatham and Brompton (later Gillingham)) and Gillingham, Rainham, Gravesend, Dickens’ Country, the Lower Medway Valley and the Hoo Peninsula 1680-1993 [1994].

[To view the full list of the collection, please click here;

to view the contents page and imagebase referral page for the Couchman collection, please click here;

to view the Couchman collection bibliography page, please click here]

Chatham volume 5:

Chatham Dockyard

Engraving cut from unascribed publication entitled Chatham Dockyard, comprising view of Chatham Reach looking north-north-east from Fort Pitt Hill towards HM Dockyard, showing, clockwise, masts of merchant ships in Chatham Bight, Chatham Ness and the Frindsbury Peninsula, Brompton, storehouses, covered slips, ships in ordinary, store houses and Fort Amherst. Drawn by J. Jackson c.1840 DE402/18/p.1

HM Dockyard, Chatham and Chatham built warships

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Photographic reproduction of engraving entitled Chatham: The Lines; The Dockyard; The Medway comprising view, enclosed in circle, of HM Gun Wharf, Anchor Wharf and the River Medway looking north-north-east from Fort Pitt Hill towards St. Mary’s Island, showing in foreground trees and group of buildings between New Road and High Street, in middle-ground elbow of river and steam tugs, in middle distance Gun Wharf, St. Mary’s Church, Anchor Wharf and western ramparts of Fort Amherst and in distance River Medway (Chatham Reach), warships and covered slips and in far distance Hoo Peninsula and spire of Holy Trinity Church, Brompton. Notes on the rear suggest the view was depicted from Elm House, New Road. Reproduced from Chatham 100 Years Ago [?] Photographed c.1980. DE402/18/p.2 (U)

[Caption partly missing, i.e. either photograph cropped or original from which exposed mutilated]

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Photograph of part of engraving entitled Chatham Dockyard from Fort Pitt, Kent comprising view of River Medway (Chatham Reach) and HM Dockyard, looking north-north-east from Fort Pitt Hill, showing in foreground lower slopes of Fort Pitt Hill, road crossing from left to right of scene carrying horse-drawn vehicles, horse riders and marching soldiers or marines, in middle ground group of buildings between New Road and High Street including Feather Mill (windmill) and Gibraltar Tower, in middle distance River Medway (Limehouse Reach), Chatham Ness and Hoo Peninsula, HM Gun Wharf, St. Mary’s Church, Church Hill, Barrier Ditch and Fort Amherst (Cornwallis Battery), in distance Hoo Peninsula, River Medway (Upnor Reach), warships at anchor, Anchor Wharf and covered slips, dockyard buildings including steam powered sawmill and chimney, Chatham Barracks and Fort Amherst (Amherst Redoubt, Belvedere Battery and Prince William’s Bastion) and in distance Hoo Peninsula, River Medway (Short Reach) and St. Mary’s Island. Engraved by R. Roffe from a drawing by G. Shepherd and published by G. Virtue, 26 Ivy Lane, London 1 November 1828. Couchman’s accompanying notes state Gibraltar Tower was one of two flanking towers of Fort Pitt, stood on site of St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church of England Church and was demolished 1881. DE402/18/p.2 (L)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Photograph of two paddle steamers moored alongside dock, showing railway rolling stock and mobile crane in middle ground and group of buildings and clock tower in distance. Couchman’s accompanying notes describe the subject as being Chatham Dockyard and the building as the clock tower store of 1722 but in fact the scene is Gambetta Quay, Boulogne-sur-Mer, Artois, Pas de Calais, France. An opposite river bank is visible in left distance. 4 3/8” x 2 5/8” (110mm x 66mm) c.1925 DE402/18/p.3 (U)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Photograph of two paddle steamers moored alongside dock, showing railway rolling stock and mobile crane in middle ground and group of buildings and clock tower in distance. Couchman’s accompanying notes describe the subject as being Chatham Dockyard and the building as the clock tower store of 1722 but in fact the scene is Gambetta Quay, Boulogne-sur-Mer, Artois, Pas de Calais, France. An opposite river bank is visible in left distance. 4 3/8” x 2 5/8” (110mm x 66mm) c.1925 DE402/18/p.3 (M)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Photograph of dockside area showing in foreground river and steam tug, in middle ground quayside, railway lines, carts, workers and bystanders, in left middle-ground public building or barracks, in middle distance range of hotels and shops and in distance castle. Couchman’s accompanying notes describe the subject as being HM Gun Wharf or Anchor Wharf at Chatham Dockyard but in fact is the Terminus Hotel, Gare Maritime, Calais, Artois, Pas de Calais, France. 4 3/8” x 2 5/8” (110mm x 66mm) c.1925 DE402/18/p.3 (L)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Gun Wharf Gardens, Chatham comprising view of HM Gun Wharf looking north towards St. Mary’s Church, showing in fore- and middle-grounds grassy area, fences, visitors, perambulator, dog and benches, in right middle ground and middle-distance group of ordnance stores and in distance, left to right, Hoo Peninsula, River Medway (Chatham Reach) and St. Mary’s Church. Published by F. Frith and Co. Ltd., Reigate, Surrey. c.1952 DE402/18/p.4

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled The Dockyard Gates, Chatham comprising view of main dockyard entrance, looking north from point in middle of Dock Road, showing in foreground carriageway, in middle ground gateway, side towers and dockyard curtain walls and in distance trees and chimney stack. Street scene shows two dockyard policemen, wrought iron lamp canopy, cannon bollards, bystanders, advertising placards and wall post box. On rear, message from unsigned author to a Mrs. Toates, [8] Grove Road, Strood, inviting her to an Old Ladies’ Tea party. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to policing of dockyard 1860-1949 and building and embellishment of gateway 1720-1812. c.1905 DE402/18/p.5 (U)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Main Gates, Chatham Dockyard comprising view of main dockyard entrance, looking north from point in middle of Dock Road, showing in foreground carriageway and in middle ground gateway, side towers and dockyard curtain wall. Street scene shows tram lines, bystanders, tree, flagpole, cannon bollards and wrought iron lamp canopy. On rear, message from unsigned author to Miss L. Wood, 87 King Street, Gillingham, possibly in connection with her birthday. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to erection of royal achievement of arms in 1812. Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. Postmarked Gillingham 1 January 1905. DE402/18/5 (L)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph set in oval, entitled Dockyard Gate, Chatham comprising view of main dockyard entrance possibly on occasion of out-muster, looking north from point on east side of Dock Road and to south, showing in middle ground gateway, side towers and dockyard curtain wall and in right distance chimney and group of buildings. Street scene shows pedestrians, cyclists, tradesmen with handcarts, flagpole, placard, pavement, tree, tram lines, iron railings, cannon bollards and wrought iron lamp canopy. On rear, message from Hilda [-] of 55 Imperial Road, Gillingham to Miss M. Claire Gee, 3 Wallis Street, Old Basford, Nottinghamshire, discussing leisure activities. Published by Valentine. Postmarked Gillingham 15 July 1915. DE402/18/p.6 (U)[Reproduced by kind permission of Hallmark International]

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Dockyard Gate, Chatham comprising view of main dockyard entrance possibly on occasion of out-muster, looking north from point on east side of Dock Road and to south, showing in middle ground gateway, side towers and dockyard curtain wall and in right distance chimney and group of buildings. Street scene shows pedestrians, cyclists, tradesmen with handcarts, flagpole, placard, pavement, tree, tram lines, iron railings, cannon bollards and wrought iron lamp canopy. Produced from same negative as DE402/18/p.6 (U) above. Published by Valentine. c.1915 DE402/18/p.6 (L)

[Reproduced by kind permission of Hallmark International]

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled Chatham Dockyard, Main Gate comprising view of main dockyard entrance possibly on occasion of in-muster, looking north from point on east side of Dock Road and to south, showing in middle ground gateway, side towers and dockyard curtain wall and in right distance chimney and group of buildings. Street scene shows pedestrians, flagpole, pavement, trees, tram lines, iron railings, cannon bollards and wrought iron lamp canopy. On rear, message from Nanna to Miss Maud Hillier, 25 Peacock Street, Gravesend, discussing making a cushion, weather and visit to Walmer. Published by Rapid Photo-Printing Co. Ltd., London EC. Postmarked Deal 6 July 1910. DE402/18/p.7 (U)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled Chatham Dockyard, Main Gate comprising view of main dockyard entrance possibly on occasion of in-muster, looking north from point on east side of Dock Road and to south, showing in middle ground gateway, side towers and dockyard curtain wall and in right distance chimney and group of buildings. Street scene shows pedestrians, flagpole, pavement, trees, tram lines, iron railings, cannon bollards and wrought iron lamp canopy. Produced from same negative as DE402/18/p.7 (U) above. Published by G.E. Saywell, Gillingham. c.1910 DE402/18/p.7 (L)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Chatham. Dockyard Gates comprising view of main dockyard entrance looking north from point in Dock Road slightly to south, showing in middle ground gateway, side towers and dockyard curtain wall and in left and right distance chimneys. Street scene shows carriageway, tram lines, pedestrians, horses and carts, hand carts, placard, cannon bollard, wrought iron lamp canopy, flagpole, pedestrians and wall letter box. c.1910 DE402/18/p.8 (U)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled Entrance to Dockyard, Chatham comprising view of main dockyard entrance looking north from point in Dock Road slightly to south, showing in middle ground gateway, side towers and dockyard curtain wall and in left and right distance chimneys. Street scene shows, left to right, carriageway, pavement, tree, parked motor car, wrought iron lamp canopy, cannon bollards, wet paint notice and wall letter box. Published by Valentine. c.1930 DE402/18/p.8 (L)

[Reproduced by kind permission of Hallmark International]HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled Chapel, Chatham Dockyard comprising view of south elevation of Chatham Dockyard Church, showing in foreground road junction, mounted cannon pointing towards camera and cannon bollards, in middle ground, left to right, cyclist, church forecourt, trees and shrubs, bystander and colonnade and in left distance covered slipway. Published in The Wellington Series. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to origin and history of church. c.1920 DE402/18/p.9 (U)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled The Golden Hind, HM Dockyard Chapel, Chatham comprising close-up view of model ship, looking at port side. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to making and presentation of model 1927. Photographer: George Burningham-Cate, 59 Luton Road, Chatham. c.1935 DE402/18/p.9 (L)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Cuttings from Chatham News comprising articles reporting closure of Dockyard Church in 1981 and future of model of Golden Hind, kept in church, 1983, former illustrated with photograph of church. 23 October 1981 and 22 January 1982. DE402/18/p10

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Cutting from Adscene comprising article reporting conversion of St. George’s Church, former naval garrison church of HMS Pembroke, Brompton into an exhibition and information centre and controversy over future of memorial chapel there. The author of the article and the compiler both seem to have confused St. George’s Church with the Royal Dockyard Church (or HM Dockyard Chapel) a photograph of which is reproduced. 15 August 1986 DE402/18/p.11

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled HMS Victory, Portsmouth, [Hampshire] (reconstructed July 1928) comprising view of warship dressed overall and in dry dock at HM Dockyard, Portsmouth, looking from stern starboard quarter, showing dry dock in fore and middle-grounds and naval dockyard buildings in distance. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to building of ship at HM Dockyard, Chatham 1759-1765, sea trials in 1769, use as Admiral Keppel’s Flagship and service 1778-1797, use as a prison ship 1798-1800, re-building 1800, service until 1812 and use as Admiral Nelson’s Flagship at the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805 *, being laid up in Portsmouth Harbour 1812-1922 and berthing in dry dock in 1922. c.1931 DE402/18/p.12

[* cf. Atlantic Ocean; Spain]

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Colour photographic postcard reproduction of oil portrait of Admiral Nelson comprising full-length view of subject wearing full dress uniform of an admiral, looking at artist viewed against background of rocky coastline, sea and fleet. Artist John Hoppner. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to HMS Victory, the River Medway and the Battle of Trafalgar. 1806 [?] DE402/18/p.13 **

[** Not reproduced in imagebase. Please contact Picture Library, Photographic Services Department, Royal Collection Enterprises Ltd., Windsor Castle, Windsor, Berkshire SL4 1NJ]

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled On the Medway, Chatham comprising view of section of River Medway at Upnor Reach, looking from Lower Upnor and Frindsbury Peninsula towards St. Mary’s Island and HM Dockyard, Chatham (Brompton and Gillingham), showing in foreground spritsail sailing barge towing dinghy and in distance dockyard power station, chimneys and masts of warships berthed in basins and chimney of steam saw mill. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Photo Series, Rochester. c.1904 x c.1914 DE402/18/p.14

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Chatham Dockyard comprising view of section of dockyard between rigging and store house and covered building slip no.2, looking east from Frindsbury Peninsula, showing in foreground River Medway (Chatham Reach), in middle ground, left to right, covered building slip no.2, Queen’s Stairs, harbourmaster’s office, flagpole and slip no.1 and in distance Captain Superintendent’s Office and Sail Loft. On rear, message from unsigned author to a Mrs. Cockerell, 6 West Street, Bridgwater, Somerset, discussing train journey. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. Postmarked Rochester 19 October 1908. DE402/18/15

Chatham built ships.
Photograph of second rate battleship possibly HMS Mars, moored at unknown location, looking from the starboard bow quarter, showing in foreground two liberty boats. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to building at Chatham, launching in 1848 and sale in 1929. c.1880 3 ¼” x 2 ½” (82mm x 60mm) With accompanying letter * from John Falconer, Historic Photographs Section, National Maritime Museum, Greenwich, London, to Couchman, identifying several ship photographs, including HMS Mars 18 September 1986. DE402/18/16-16a.

[* Copyright The National Maritime Museum. Reproduced by kind permission of the The National Maritime Museum. The National Maritime Museum is unable to engage in any additional correspondence relating to the matter.]Chatham built ships.
Photograph of HMS Achilles, iron screw ship, at unknown location, looking towards port side. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to laying of keel 1861, launching 1863, completion and commissioning 1864 and subsequent history 1864-1923. 3 ½” x 2 1/8” (89mm x 54mm) DE402/18/17 (U)

Chatham built ships.
Photocopy of photograph of HMS Achilles, iron screw ship, looking from the starboard bow quarter, sailing with Channel Fleet accompanied by HMS Neptune, visible over forecastle. Original exposed 1884. DE402/18/17 (L)

Chatham built ships.
Photographic reproduction of drawing of longitudinal starboard elevation of HMS Monarch, armour plated turret ship. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to building of ship 1866-1868 and launching 1868. Original c.1870 3 ¼” x 2 ¼” (81mm x 58mm) DE402/18/p.18 (U)

Chatham built ships.
Photographic reproduction of drawing of longitudinal starboard elevation of HMS Sultan, armour clad frigate. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to laying of first plate in no.2 dock 1868, launching 1870 and Turkish * connection. 3 ¼” x 2 ¼” (81mm x 58mm) Original c.1870 DE402/18/p.18 (L)

[* cf. Turkey]

Chatham built ships.
Photographic reproduction of photograph of HMS Alexandra, central battery ship, in harbour at Malta * and dressed overall, looking from port bow quarter. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to laying of keel 1873, launching 1875 and completion and commissioning 1877. DE402/18/19 (U)

[cf. Mediterranean]

Chatham built ships.
Photographic reproduction of print from engraving comprising view of HRH Princess Alexandra, Princess of Wales, operating launching mechanism for HMS Alexandra in presence of dignitaries and crowd, 7 April 1875. Source not stated, possibly Illustrated London News c.1875. DE402/18/19 (L)

Chatham built ships.
Postcard photograph inscribed HMS Shannon, launched September 20 1906 comprising view of cruiser looking from starboard bow quarter, showing in fore and middle grounds rowing boats, sculling boat, steam launch and twin funnelled paddle steamer and in right middle distance motor launch and spritsail sailing barge, on occasion of launching at HM Dockyard, Chatham. On rear, message from Auntie C[-] to William Glanvill Mason, Penhorns House, Royal Masonic School, Bushey, Hertfordshire, mentioning launch of Shannon, visit by Stanley [-] and weather. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, 212 High Street, Rochester. Postmarked Chatham 5 November 1906. DE402/18/20 (U)

Chatham built ships.
Postcard photograph of submarine L23 looking from port bow quarter, showing gun, men and signal flags on conning tower. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to completion 1924 and foundering off Nova Scotia, Canada * 1946. DE402/18/20 (L)

[cf. Atlantic Ocean]

Chatham built ships.
Postcard photograph entitled Chatham Dockyard, HMS Albemarle comprising view of Duncan class battleship looking from bow starboard quarter, showing in foreground cable carriages parked on quay, in middle ground ship moored alongside in basin and in distance part of steam vessel. On rear, message from Arthur Camp to Miss F. Camp, 12 Colliseum Terrace, Regent’s Park, London NW concerning travel arrangements. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to laying of keel 1900 and completion 1900, displacement, overall length and beam. The Wellington Series, G&P Ltd. Photographer: Gale and Polden Ltd. Postmarked Chatham 14 September 1906. DE402/18/p.21 (U)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled Chatham Dockyard, The Museum comprising view of interior of gallery, showing ships’ figureheads and mounted longitudinal sections of warships under sloping corrugated roof. On rear, in later hand, message to a Mr. Pickelem, 17 Bockenet Avenue, Maidstone. The Wellington Series, G&P Ltd. Photographer: Gale and Polden Ltd. Published c.1906; message c.1960. DE402/18/p.21 (L)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled The wreaths at the funeral of the late Rear Admiral A.C. Corry, buried at Chatham January 29 1907 comprising view of rear section of naval funeral procession rounding corner of Church Hill and Military Road, Chatham, looking north from balcony of Chatham Constitutional Club, showing along line of route onlookers and Royal Marines Light Infantry sentries in home service uniforms and helmets standing at present arms, in left middle ground and middle distance column of naval senior and junior ratings and artificers in square rig and sennet hats, fore-and-aft rig and bicorns headed by horse-drawn carriage marching towards camera and bearing wreaths and in distance drill hall and continuation of Military Road [cf. Boundary Road]. Also showing tram lines, lamp standards, iron railings on corner of The Paddock, naval officers acting as street marshals and cabman’s shelter. Photographer: Abrahams and Sons. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to Corry, superintendent of the dockyard. 29 January 1907. DE402/18/p.22 (U)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled Funeral of Rear Admiral Corry comprising view of front and middle sections of naval funeral procession marching along Military Road, Chatham towards camera, looking north-east from second storey of Welcome Sailors and Soldiers’ Home [?] on west side of Military Road, showing in foreground gun carriage party formed of junior ratings in square rig and sennet hats, in middle ground horse-drawn vehicles negotiating Queen Victoria Jubilee Memorial Fountain and in distance column of ratings bearing wreaths and showing range of buildings on east side of Military Road, left to right, Town Hall, entrance to The Brook, Eagle Inn (no.10), Charles and Arthur Brigen, tobacconists’ shop (no.11), Chatham Constitutional Club (no.13), Ive and Lowe, wholesale and retail stationers and paper bag merchants’ shop (no.15), Benjamin Cossey’s dining rooms (no.16), Robert Martin, naval outfitter’s shop (no.17), Charles Carvell, bird dealer’s shop (no.18), Richard Wade and Sons, naval outfitters’ shop (no.19), Henry Sharp, hairdresser’s shop (no.20), Abraham G. Marks, outfitter’s shop (no.21), R.E. Malpas, coliseum (no.22), restaurant (no.23) and H. King’s fried fish supper rooms (no.24). Street scene shows carriageway, tram lines, tram power line columns, lamp standards, fountain, crowds of onlookers and Royal Marines Light Infantry in home service dress and helmets standing at present arms lining route and trees in The Paddock. Published by T. Bell and Co., Chatham. 29 January 1907. DE402/18/p.22 (L)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Postcard photograph entitled Floating Dock on the Medway comprising bow view of floating dock supporting HMS St. Vincent, showing in foreground rowing boat, in middle ground steam tug, floating dock, dock superstructure, cranes, funnels and naval and dockyard personnel and warship, showing mast and guns. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to building of dock by Swan, Hunter and Wigham Richardson at Wallsend, Northumberland and mooring site at Salt Pan Reach, Port Victoria, Isle of Grain. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. September 1912. DE402/18/p.23

Chatham built ships.
Stencilled order of ceremony for launching of submarine HMS Odin at HM Dockyard, Chatham 5 May 1928. DE402/18/p.24

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Heavily tinted postcard photograph entitled Chatham Dockyard comprising view of dockyard looking south-south-east from Beacon Hill, Frindsbury Extra towards St. Mary’s Island and North Downs, showing in left foreground group of buildings in Lower Upnor and in right foreground buildings at north end of Royal Naval Armaments Depot, Upnor, in middle ground River Medway (Upnor Reach) and spritsail sailing barges and bawley boats, in middle distance St. Mary’s Island, basins and warships, in distance Brompton Barracks, Royal Naval Barracks (HMS Pembroke) and Great Lines of Defence. Message front and rear from Stanley (Stan) [Mason?] and mother to William Glanvill Mason, Francomb’s House, Royal Masonic School, Bushey, Hertfordshire, discussing health and house move. Postmarked Chatham 17 March 1903. DE402/18/p.25 (U)

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Chatham Dockyard from Upnor comprising view of dockyard looking south-south-east from Beacon Hill, Frindsbury Extra towards St. Mary’s Island and North Downs, showing in foreground seated spectators, trees and bushes on lower slopes of Beacon Hill, in left middle ground pier, moored steam vessel, Pier Hotel and group of buildings in Lower Upnor and in right middle ground group of buildings at north end of Royal Naval Armaments Depot, Upnor, in near distance River Medway (Upnor Reach) and spritsail sailing barges, in distance St. Mary’s Island, basins and warships and in far distance Brompton Barracks, Royal Naval Barracks (HMS Pembroke) and Great Lines of Defence. Published by Valentine. c.1905 DE402/18/p.25 (L)

[Reproduced by kind permission of Hallmark International]

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Chatham, Leaving the Dockyard comprising view of workers’ out-muster, looking east along Pembroke Road from point slightly to west of Main Gate of HMS Pembroke, showing in foreground, left middle-ground, left middle-distance and left distance column of workers comprising pedestrians and cyclists heading towards camera, in right middle-ground Main Gate and Guard House of HMS Pembroke and entrance to Central Avenue and in left middle-ground and distance dockyard buildings. Street scene shows carriageway, horse-drawn vehicle, tram lines, tram power line columns and power lines. c.1905 DE402/18/p.26

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Cutting from periodical comprising reproduction of photograph of workers’ out-muster, looking east along Pembroke Road from point slightly to west of Main Gate of HMS Pembroke, showing in left fore and middle-grounds partially loaded tram cars of Chatham and District Light Railway Co. facing camera and awaiting workers on route to Chatham, in right middle-ground column of workers heading towards camera and middle-distance Guard House and Main Gate of HMS Pembroke and entrance to Central Avenue. Street scene shows carriageway, telegraph or telephone posts and tram power lines. 1926 DE402/18/p.27

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Photograph of floating dock in River Medway at confluence with River Thames, looking north from superstructure of vessel, showing in foreground superstructure and wake of photographer’s vessel, in middle-distance floating dock and in distance Admiralty fuel tanks at Port Victoria, Isle of Grain. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to surrender and partial dismantlement by Germany of world’s largest floating dock, building of replacement section by Chatham Dockyard and joining of two parts at Malta 1920-1925. 4 ¼” x 3 ¼” (105mm x 80mm) 29 June 1921 DE402/18/p.28

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Cutting from Chatham, Rochester and Gillingham News comprising article reporting outward journey of floating dock built at Chatham, from Chatham via Sheerness, Gibraltar and Plymouth to Malta. 7 August 1925 DE402/18/p.29

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Christmas card from Royal Naval Armaments Depot, Chatham District, Upnor, bearing photograph of river frontage of Upnor Castle looking from south. Printed by Gale and Polden Ltd., Aldershot, Hampshire. 1931. DE402/18/p.30

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Hurt note form D189 Sta2/14 in respect of injury sustained on 12 May 1949 by E.G. Rayner, 33 Langdon Road, Rochester, engine fitter at dockyard. 12 May 1949, stamped by Manager, Engineering Department, 13 May 1949. DE402/18/p.31

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Cutting from Chatham, Rochester and Gillingham News comprising article reporting refit of last submarine, HMS Churchill, with photographs of inspection of junior ratings of ship’s company by Winston Churchill MP, the submarine in a dock alongside nuclear complex and presentation by Alan Kettle, dockyard general manager, of casket to Vice Admiral Sir Peter Herbert. 13 May 1983 DE402/18/p.32

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Cutting from Chatham, Rochester and Gillingham News comprising article reporting departure of submarine HMS Churchill from dockyard after refit, with photograph of submarine in dock, ship’s company on deck and workers on dockside. 27 May 1983. DE402/18/p.33

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Cutting from Chatham, Rochester and Gillingham News comprising article reporting options for disposal of giant dockyard crane at no.2 basin, with photograph. 23 August 1985. DE402/18/p.34

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Cutting from Chatham, Rochester and Gillingham News comprising article reporting dismantling of giant crane at no.2 basin with photograph. 1 August 1986 DE402/18/p.35

HM Dockyard, Chatham.
Cutting from Chatham, Rochester and Gillingham News comprising article reporting final stages of dismantlement of giant crane at no.2 basin. 8 August 1986 DE402/18/p.36

File updated by Borough Archivist 24 April 2008


Date: [c.1806] 1828-1986
Quantity: 1 volume/36pp.
Result number 14 - Please quote Reference: DE0402_Couchman_ephemera_and_MSS_/DE0402_20 on request slip.

Path: Unofficial_or_Privately_Originated_Collections/ DE0402_Couchman_ephemera_and_MSS_/ DE0402_20.html

IMAGEBASE USERS PLEASE SCROLL DOWN

Important note to imagebase users.

Caveat and disclaimer.

Customers wishing to reproduce, print-off, download or publish images from this database or imagebase may require the permission of the owner of the Copyright of the original records. Publication by Medway Council of this database or imagebase does not imply a right on the part of the user to reproduce, print-off, download or publish the images or absolve the user from the need to obtain permission to reproduce items subject to Copyright. Medway Council has obtained permission from Copyright owners to reproduce images in this database or imagebase without prejudice to wider Copyright. Strictly no commercial or organisational reproduction, printing-off, downloading or publication of the images in this imagebase may be undertaken without the prior consent of Medway Council or the owner of the Copyright of the original records. No separate or independent databases or imagebases derived from this imagebase may be created for organisational or commercial purposes without the express permission of Medway Council or the Copyright owners. Where downloading of images is permissible it may only be done for reasons of private study. Private study is defined by the Patent Office and the definition is incorporated in the relevant legislation.

E.H. Couchman collection of postcards, photographs, ephemera and manuscripts pertaining to the history of the Medway Towns (Rochester, Strood, Chatham and Brompton (later Gillingham)) and Gillingham, Rainham, Gravesend, Dickens’ Country, the Lower Medway Valley and the Hoo Peninsula 1680-1993 [1994].

[To view the full list of the collection, please click here;

to view the contents page and imagebase referral page for the Couchman collection, please click here;

to view the Couchman collection bibliography page, please click here]

Chatham volume 7 and Old Brompton: Army Chatham District and Garrison of the Inner Lines of Defence and Royal Marines Chatham Division .

Contents page, Chatham volume 7 DE402/20/p.1

Blank page DE402/20/p.2

Army Chatham District and Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Photocopy of section of map of Medway Towns published by G.W. Bacon and Co. Ltd., Norwich Street, London EC4, as contained in Kelly’s Directories, showing Frindsbury Peninsula, part of Rochester, Chatham, Old Brompton and New Brompton, HM Dockyard, Great Lines of Defence and military establishments, latter highlighted in coloured crayon and comprising: St. Mary’s Barracks, Cumberland Avenue, Brompton; Royal Naval Barracks (HMS Pembroke), Brompton; Brompton Barracks (Royal Engineers), Wood Street, Brompton; School of Military Engineering, Brompton Road, Brompton; Royal Engineers’ Electrical School, Prince Arthur Avenue, Brompton; Garrison Church and School, Mansion Road, Brompton; Garrison Gymnasium, Brompton Road, Brompton; Melville Hospital for Seamen and Marines, Dock Road, Chatham; Upper Chatham Barracks; (Lower) Chatham Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham; Royal Marines Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham; Fort Pitt Military Hospital, Fort Pitt Hill, Rochester/Chatham; Southill Barracks, Maidstone Road, Upnor Pontoon Yard, Upper Upnor, Frindsbury Extra; Chatham; and Royal Naval Hospital, Great Lines, Gillingham. c.1912 DE402/20/p.3

Army Chatham District establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled 1st. Sussex Royal Engineers Volunteers, Fort Darland, Chatham, 1905 comprising view of tented encampment looking north-west across north-west corner of Darland Field from ramparts of Fort Darland towards Hoo Peninsula, showing in foreground driveway, moat and entrance to fort, in middle ground chalk outcrops, tents, hut and hay stack, in middle distance rows of tents and formation of troops, in near distance buildings or houses and in far distance houses and industrial areas in Gillingham and ridge on Hoo Peninsula. On rear, message from Harry [-] of 1st. Sussex Royal Engineers Volunteers, B Company, Fort Darland, Chatham to Miss [A.?] Sutton, 1 Rosslyn Terrace, Cornwall Road, Lower Walmer, Deal, explaining three other battalions are present but not in view. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to duration of stay and give name of commanding officer as Colonel A.A. Oakden. Postmarked Chatham 9 August 1905. DE402/20/p.4

Army Chatham District establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled Entrance to St. Mary’s Barracks, Chatham comprising view of central block looking east along main drive from point near junction with Khyber Road, showing in foreground sergeant and sapper in service dress and service dress caps, former with small child, in middle ground avenue of trees, in middle distance two pedestrians with backs to camera and in distance accommodation block showing casemates. Photo Series published by W. Naylar, Rochester. c.1912 DE402/20/p.5

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled Main Gate and Barracks, Chatham comprising view of Royal Marines Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham, looking north from point near top of Church Hill, showing in left middle ground gateway and adjutant’s office and in middle distance commandant’s quarters and officers’ quarters. Street scene shows carriageway, tram lines, trees, pavement, cyclist and tram car. On rear, message from M.E.M.[?] to a Mrs. Southgate, Hamilton Gardens, 8 Felbrigge Road, Seven Kings, Essex, discussing travel arrangements, asking her to bake him a loaf of bread and sending kisses to Lily [cf. Lilly.] Arcadia Bazaar Series. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to Hill House on same site 1569-1805 and vacation and demolition of barracks 1950 and 1959. Postmarked Rochester 25 May 1909. DE402/20/p.6 (U)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Marines Light Infantry (RMLI) Main Entrance to Barracks comprising view of Royal Marines Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham, looking west from embankment on opposite side of Dock Road, showing in foreground carriageway, part of guard room, cannon bollards, sentry, civilian bystander, gates, trees, wrought iron canopy and lantern, overhead railings and gate posts, in middle ground parade ground and fatigue party of marines in duck jackets being drilled and in distance other ranks’ accommodation block. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to building of barracks 1780-1784. Gale and Polden’s Wellington Series. c.1910 DE402/20/p.6 (L)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Chatham, Main Entrance, Royal Marine Barracks comprising view of Royal Marines Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham, looking south-west from position in carriageway slightly to north, showing in foreground part of guard room (left-hand side), part of adjutant’s office (right-hand side), carriageway, cannon bollards, sentry in greatcoat, civilian bystander, gates, trees, wrought iron canopy and lantern, overhead railings and gate posts, in middle ground parade ground and in distance other ranks’ accommodation block. On rear, message from Ruth [-] to Dorothy (Dot) and W. Glanvill (Glan) Mason, c/o Miss Chase, 61 North Quay, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, discussing weather in Norfolk and her father’s health. Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. Postmarked Chatham-Rochester 6 September 1922. DE402/20/p.7 (U)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled Entrance, Royal Marine Barracks, Chatham comprising view of Royal Marines Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham, looking west from embankment opposite, showing in foreground cobbled entrance way, cannon bollards, sentry in No.1 Dress, boy bystander, gates, trees, wrought iron canopy and lantern, overhead railings and gate posts, in middle ground parade ground and fatigue party of marines in duck jackets, universal dress caps and blue trousers being drilled and in distance other ranks’ accommodation block. Chatham Borough Council coat of arms superimposed. Published by Woolstone Brothers, London EC, Milton Glazette Series and printed in Germany. c.1910 DE402/20/p.7 (L)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled Marine Barracks, Chatham comprising view of Royal Marines Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham, looking north-north-west across parade ground from south-eastern corner of parade ground towards officers’ quarters, showing in fore and middle grounds parade ground and tree, in left middle ground and distance other ranks’ accommodation block sergeants’ mess, non-commissioned officers’ library, officers’ library and trees and in right distance officers’ quarters and shrubs. Excel Series. c.1920 DE402/20/8 (U)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Marines Light Infantry (RMLI), Men’s Quarters comprising view of Royal Marines Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham, looking north-west across parade ground from point in parade ground, showing in foreground parade ground, in middle ground and distance other ranks’ accommodation block, marines in duck jackets, blue trousers and fore-and-aft forage caps, other marines in No.1 Dress, benches, railings and trees and in right distance western end of officers’ quarters. Gale and Polden’s Wellington Series. c.1910 DE402/20/p.8 (L)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Chatham Royal Marine Barracks comprising view of Royal Marines Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham, looking north-north-west from south-eastern corner of parade ground across parade ground towards Officers’ Quarters, showing in foreground parade ground, in middle ground two platoons of marines in Home Service uniform, in left middle distance other ranks’ accommodation block, sergeants’ mess, non-commissioned officers’ library, Officers’ Library and trees, in right middle distance divisional band and in distance, Officers’ Quarters and trees. Published by Photocrom Co. Ltd., London. c.1910 DE402/20/p.9 (U)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled Main Gate, Royal Marine Barracks, Chatham comprising view of Royal Marines Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham, looking west from embankment on opposite side of Dock Road, showing in foreground carriageway and divisional band in No.1 Dress (Home Service Dress) executing left turn into Dock Road through main gate, in middle ground part of guard room, trees, gate pillars, wrought iron canopy and civilian spectators including schoolboy in trencher, in middle distance visible through left hand gate and main gate marching platoons of marines also in No.1 Dress (Home Service Dress) and in distance other ranks’ accommodation block. On rear, message from James (Jim) [-] N. Munn, Torpedo Boat 35, Portland, Dorset, c/o General Post Office (GPO), London, to his cousin Emma [-] explaining his part in manoeuvres, burden of looking after 4 officers and complaining of being fed up with this kind of life, dated 31 July 1910. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. DE402/20/p.9 (L)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled Officers’ Quarters, Chatham comprising oval view of northern range of buildings at Royal Marines Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham, looking north along Dock Road from point on east side of road and slightly to south, towards Dockyard Main gate (not in view), showing in foreground carriageway, in left middle ground range of buildings comprising Commandant’s Quarters and Officers’ Quarters beyond and in distance wall near Dockyard Main Gate. Street scene shows tram lines, tram car heading towards camera, tram power line columns, cannon bollards, trees, street lamp, horse and cart and pedestrians. On rear, message from Samuel (Sam) [-] to a Mr. James (Jim) Champlin, 31 Amber Street, Middlesborough (Middlesbro), Yorkshire, discussing delivery of a parcel and weather. Valentine’s Series. Postmarked Chatham 3 August 1912. DE402/20/p.10

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Photocopy of article in Chatham Observer reporting outing of Royal Marines Chatham Division Band to King’s Head at Headcorn on 22 August 1890. Published 30 August 1890. DE402/20/p.11 (U)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Marines Church Parade comprising view of column of Royal Marines headed by divisional band marching towards camera, looking north along Dock Road from point on embankment on east side of road and slightly to south, showing in foreground carriageway, in middle ground Royal Marines band in No.1 (Home Service) dress, civilian cyclists and spectators, in left middle distance ranges of buildings comprising Sick Quarters, Works Department (formerly Commandant’s Quarters) and beyond Officers’ Quarters. Street scene shows Royal Marines marching platoons also in No.1 (Home Service) dress, tram lines, tram car, tram power line columns and lines, iron railings, children and man pushing perambulator. On rear, message from H. J[-] to Master William (Willie) Pearce, Barry Cottage, Lower Frog Street, Tenby, Pembrokeshire, Wales, sending his love to Ma and referring to a game. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. Postmarked Chatham 20 January 1913. DE402/20/p.11 (L)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Cutting possibly from Chatham Navy Days programme comprising article on Fleet Band of Royal Marines, HMS Pembroke, Chatham, with photograph of band marching down south-bound carriageway of Dock Road past Dockyard Main Gate. c.1982 DE402/20/p.12

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Cutting from Evening Post reporting departure of Fleet Band of Royal Marines from HMS Pembroke, Chatham to RAF Northolt, Middlesex, with photograph of band on occasion of Parents’ Day Divisions Parade, HMS Pembroke. Published 16 May 1983 DE402/20/p.13

Army Chatham District establishments.
Chatham Barracks (alias) New Barracks, Infantry Barracks and (in part) Artillery Barracks (1772-1806)), later Kitchener Barracks, Chatham (from 1928).
Reproduction of engraving entitled Chatham Barracks comprising view of square and adjacent buildings looking south-south-west from Brompton Hill, showing four blocks or ranges of buildings, left to right, commandant’s quarters, brigade major’s office, canteen and soldiers’ quarters, latter surmounted by weather vane. Street scene shows mounted and foot soldiers. Published by Rock and Co., London. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to history of site 1757-1928. c.1840 DE402/20/p.14 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Chatham Barracks (alias) New Barracks, Infantry Barracks and (in part) Artillery Barracks (1772-1806)), later Kitchener Barracks, Chatham (from 1928).
Postcard photograph entitled No.1 Training Depot, Battalion, Chatham: The Main Gate, Lower Barracks [sic], comprising view of main gate and square of Chatham Barracks looking north-north-east from point in approach road (later Khartoum Road) outside main gate towards Brompton Hill, showing in foreground brick pillars, main entrance surmounted by wrought iron canopy and lantern, pedestrian arches at either side, cannon bollards and notices, in middle ground coal yard wall (seen through left-hand arch), sentry at order arms with Short Magazine Lee-Enfield rifle, bayonet fixed, and second soldier looking at camera, in middle-distance range of buildings, trees, children and bandsmen, all soldiers wearing Service Dress and in distance trees. Published by Raphael Tuck and Sons Ltd. c.1914 DE402/20/p.14 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Chatham Barracks (alias) New Barracks, Infantry Barracks and (in part) Artillery Barracks (1772-1806)), later Kitchener Barracks, Chatham (from 1928).
Postcard photograph entitled Chatham Barracks comprising view of Lower Barracks and square looking north-north-east along access road from point inside main gate, showing left to right, coal yard wall, entrance to access road to soldiers’ quarters, main guard room and range of soldiers’ quarters. Street scene shows groups of soldiers standing on pavement and in carriageway, horse-drawn vehicle approaching camera, line of trees, square and clump of trees behind iron railing and low wall. Wrench Series, printed in Saxony, Germany. c.1912 DE402/20/p.15

Army Chatham District establishments.
Chatham Barracks (alias) New Barracks, Infantry Barracks and (in part) Artillery Barracks (1772-1806)), later Kitchener Barracks, Chatham (from 1928).
Postcard photograph entitled Lower Barracks, Chatham comprising view of accommodation blocks, possibly married quarters, in north-west corner of barracks, looking south-east from point in Dock Road opposite junction of Brompton Hill and Dock Road, showing in foreground junction, in left middle ground iron railing and low wall at south-west corner of Melville Barracks, in right middle ground enclosing wall, accommodation block, residents on balcony and laundry and in middle-distance trees and second accommodation block and laundry. Street scene shows pedestrians, children and lamp post. W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. c.1910 x c.1920 DE402.20/16

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Melville Hospital for Seamen and Marines, Dock Road, Chatham.
Photograph of hospital colonnade and blocks looking north-east from foot of Brompton Hill, showing in foreground lawn and saplings, in middle ground line of staff, civilians, marines and policeman, all looking towards camera and in distance hospital buildings comprising, right to left, ward and store (right-hand block), officers’ rooms (centre) and wards (left-hand block). Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to history of site from 1827, replacement by Royal Naval Hospital, Chatham in 1905 and hand-over to Royal Marines as Melville Barracks. 3 ½” x 2 ¼” (87mm x 60mm) c.1890 DE402/20/p.17 (U)

Royal Marines Chatham Division establishments.
Melville Barracks, Dock Road, Chatham.
Cutting from Medway Extra comprising photograph of marine standing guard at entrance to hospital at foot of Brompton Hill, looking north-north-east from point outside entrance towards southern opening of colonnade, showing line of trees in left middle ground and car parked alongside colonnade. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to closure and development of site 1960-1965 and correct the newspaper caption’s date for the photograph from 1961 to 1960. DE402/20/p.17 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Photograph of Garrison Gymnasium, Brompton Road, Brompton looking north-east across Inner Lines towards building, showing in foreground civilian bystander looking at camera, in middle ground gymnasium and in left distance trees and structure adjacent to Brompton Road. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to building by Matthews and Sons of Dover, government contractors in 1863 and opening in 1864. 3 5/8” x 2 ¼” (93mm x 58mm) DE402/20/p.18

Army Chatham District establishments.
Postcard photograph entitled Sally Port and Gymnasium comprising view of Garrison Gymnasium and Royal Engineers’ offices looking north-east across Inner Lines towards Sally Port, showing in foreground sheep grazing on Inner Lines, in middle ground shrubbery, wooden fence, clump of trees and RE offices, in left middle-distance gymnasium and in right middle distance inner side of Sally Port. Couchman’s accompanying notes explain function of sally ports. On rear, MS verse:

How sweet it is to hear those bells
Which call us to our pews
But sweeter far; to lie in bed
And have another snooze

Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. c.1912 DE402/20/p.19

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham .
Copy of photograph of marching column of Royal Engineers (RE), band leading, looking north-west from Parade Ground, through Crimean War Memorial Arch towards Brompton Barracks Square, showing in foreground part of parade ground, RE band in undress uniform of serge frocks and pillbox or forage caps, in middle ground memorial arch and marching column of sappers passing through central arch, column facing camera, and in distance barracks square. Reproduced from a glass plate negative at Fine Art Studio, Strood, formerly in the W. Glanvill Mason Collection. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to dating of photograph based on advice from National Army Museum, Royal Hospital Road, Chelsea, Middlesex. Original exposed c.1890 DE402/20/p.20

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Gillingham, Memorial Arch comprising view of Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks, looking east from point in south-east corner of Brompton Barracks Square towards arch and RE Institute (subsequently RE Library), showing in foreground corner of square, in middle ground memorial arch, sentry, iron railings and trees, in middle-distance cannon and in distance RE Institute. On rear, bear emblem. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to story of adoption of dog called Dog Snob rescued from battlefield of the Alma, The Crimea, Ukraine, Russia in 1854, part burial of remains under Crimean War Memorial Arch in 1860 and display of pelt in RE Museum, Prince Arthur Road, Gillingham. c.1910 DE402/20/p.21 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Item removed by compiler. No data. DE402/20/p.21 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled The Royal Engineers’ Memorial Arch, New [sic] Brompton comprising view of Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks, looking south-east from point at eastern end of Brompton Barracks Square towards arch and RE Institute (subsequently RE Library), showing in foreground eastern end of square, in middle ground memorial arch, sentry, iron railings and trees and in distance RE Institute. Published by J.W. and S. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to laying of foundation stone by Duke of Cambridge on 1 March 1860 and casting of gates from bronze cannons captured from Russians in Crimean War. c.1905 DE402/20/p.22 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Engineers’ Memorial Arch, Chatham comprising view of Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks, looking south-east from point at eastern end of Brompton Barracks Square towards arch and RE Institute (subsequently RE Library), showing in foreground eastern end of square, in middle ground memorial arch, sentry, iron railings and trees and in distance RE Institute. Published by J.W. and S. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to laying of foundation stone by Duke of Cambridge on 1 March 1860 and casting of gates from bronze cannons captured from Russians in Crimean War. From same exposure as DE402/20/p.22 (U) above. c.1905 DE402/20/p.22 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Reproduction of photograph entitled Memorial Arch, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham comprising view of Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks, looking north-west from parade ground towards Barracks Square, showing in foreground part of parade ground, in middle ground arch, brass gates, iron railings and sentry in undress facing camera, in middle distance sappers being drilled in barracks square and in distance officers’ quarters and mess. Photographer/publisher G.W.W. 8” x 6” (203mm x 152mm) c.1910 DE402/20/p.23

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Memorial Arch, New [sic] Brompton comprising view of Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks, looking east from point inside Barracks Square slightly to south, showing in foreground south-east corner of Barracks Square and non-commissioned officer or officer in undress facing camera, in middle ground sentry box, trees, iron railings and arch and in distance, left to right, moulding and printing rooms and RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library). On rear and front, message from The Kid to Rev. Father Clay, 205 Goldhawk Road, Shepherd’s Bush, London, wishing him a Happy New Year, asking if he will visit and describing boat trip in a vessel called Porcupine, mentioning The Nore and expressing concern about torpedo boat destroyers. The author has deleted the word New in the caption and replaced it with Old. Also on rear, notes on history of arch, possibly by W. Glanvill Mason. c.1905 DE402/20/p.24 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Crimea Memorial Arch, Royal Engineers’ Square, Brompton Barracks, Chatham comprising view Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks, looking west from point in parade ground slightly to east towards Brompton Barracks, showing in foreground part of parade ground and sentry in Service Dress, in middle ground arch, gates open, in middle distance Barracks Square and in distance, left to right, officers’ quarters and mess and soldiers’ quarters. MS cross indicates quarters occupied by author. On rear, message from unsigned author to unstated addressee describing drill and accommodation in Brompton Barracks. Couchman’s accompanying notes relate to absence of iron railings. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Photo Series, Rochester. c.1914 DE402/20/p.24 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Memorial Arch, Old Brompton, Kent comprising view of Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks, looking north-west from parade ground through arch towards Brompton Barracks, showing in foreground arch and bronze railings and in distance officers’ quarters and mess. Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. c.1905 DE402/20/p.25

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled The Russia Memorial Arch, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Brompton comprising view of Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks, looking west from parade ground through arch towards Brompton Barracks, showing in foreground part of parade ground, in middle ground arch, trees and two soldiers in Service Dress and in distance Barracks Square, soldiers’ quarters and officers’ quarters. Published by J. Welch and Sons, Portsmouth, Hampshire, photographic publishers. c.1915 DE402/20/p.26 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Crimean Arch and Royal Engineers’ Institute, Chatham comprising view of Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks, looking south-east from Barracks Square towards memorial arches and RE Institute, showing in foreground southern end of square, in middle ground company or squadron of sappers in Home Service uniform, facing camera and standing at present arms, in middle distance Crimean War Memorial Arch and South African * (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch, latter visible through central arch of former and in distance RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library). On rear, message from Ethel [-] of 56 Grange Road, Strood to Miss Alice Young, c/o Mrs. Stock, Elms Avenue, Elms, Ramsgate, discussing health and domestic matters. Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. Postmarked Rochester 10 June 1915. DE402/20/p.26 (L)

[* cf. Africa]

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers. South African and Gordon Memorials comprising view of Royal Engineers’ South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch and RE Institute, looking north-east from parade ground, showing in foreground arch, flanking obelisks, pavement, flower beds and low wall, in middle ground dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum * on plinth and in distance RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library). Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to unveiling of memorial by King Edward VII on 26 July 1905, laying of foundation stone of RE Institute by HRH Duke of Cambridge 22 May 1872 and history of sappers and their establishments in Medway Towns and area 1812-1962. c.1920 DE402/20/p.27

[* cf. Sudan]

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Unveiling the Royal Engineers’ South African Memorial comprising view of parade ground at Brompton Barracks on occasion of unveiling Royal Engineers’ South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch, looking north-west from RE Institute, showing in foreground Institute lawn, potted oak sapling awaiting ceremonial planting, drive leading from RE Institute, RE Band in No.1 Dress and firing party of sappers in Home Service dress at slope arms, in middle ground arch dressed in Union flags, flanking cannons and flanking obelisks, in middle distance in parade ground HM King Edward VII operating unveiling mechanism and party of general and other senior officers, in near distance trees, viewing stands and awnings and squads of sappers also at slope arms and in distance Crimean War Memorial Arch, eastern range of Brompton Barracks and block containing moulding room, printing room and telegraph school. Published by Gale and Polden Ltd., Aldershot and Portsmouth, Hampshire. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to electrical and mechanical means by which flags were dropped. Exposed 26 July 1905. DE402/20/p.28 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Unveiling the Royal Engineers’ South African Memorial comprising view of parade ground at Brompton Barracks on occasion of unveiling Royal Engineers’ South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch, looking south-west from RE Institute, showing in foreground Institute lawn, drive leading from RE Institute, RE Band in No.1 Dress and firing party of sappers in in Home Service dress in readiness to fire volleys, in middle ground arch, flanking cannons and flanking obelisks, in middle distance in parade ground party of HM King Edward VII, general officers, other senior officers, colour party, Chaplain General and other senior military chaplains, in near distance trees, viewing stands and awnings and squads of sappers at present arms and in distance Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks Square and officers’ quarters. Published by Gale and Polden Ltd., Aldershot and Portsmouth, Hampshire. Exposed 26 July 1905. DE402/20/p.28 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled His Majesty Planting a Tree at the Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham comprising view of RE Institute Lawn and parade ground at Brompton Barracks on occasion of unveiling Royal Engineers’ South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch, looking north-west from RE Institute, showing in left foreground HM King Edward VII planting oak sapling in Institute lawn, accompanied by general officers, other senior RE officers, Chaplain General and other senior military chaplains, in right foreground drive to RE Institute, escort party in Home Service Dress and RE Band in No.1 Dress, in middle ground arch, flanking cannons and flanking obelisks, in middle distance king’s carriage, driver and out-riders, in near distance squads of sappers standing at ease and viewing stand and in distance Crimean War Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks Square, officers’ quarters and mess and soldier’s quarters. Published by Gale and Polden Ltd., Aldershot and Portsmouth, Hampshire. Couchman’s accompanying notes state the oak sapling was planting together with pot and mention contemporary suggestion of move or sappers from Brompton to Cooper’s Hill, Egham, Surrey. Exposed 26 July 1905. DE402/20/p.29

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Tinted and glittered postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers’ South African Memorial Arch, Old Brompton, Kent comprising view of west elevation of Royal Engineers’ South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch looking east from parade ground, showing in foreground part of driveway leading to RE Institute, in middle ground arch, in middle-distance and flanking obelisks and in distance dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth and in distance RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library). Greeting Greetings from Chatham embossed with glitter and architectural features also selectively embossed with glitter. On rear, message from a Mac [-] to a Mrs. Young of Brighton, Sussex, sending Christmas wishes and wishing her good things for the New Year. Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. Pre-1914 DE402/20/p.30 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled South African Memorial Arch, Brompton Barracks, Chatham comprising view of west elevation of Royal Engineers’ South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch looking east from parade ground, showing in foreground part of driveway leading to RE Institute, in middle ground arch, in middle-distance and flanking obelisks and in distance dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth and in distance RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library). From same exposure as DE402/20/p.30 (U) above. Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. Pre-1914 DE402/20/p.30 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled South African Arch and Boer Statue, School of Military Engineering, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham comprising view of Royal Engineers’ South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch looking north-east from point in parade ground slightly to south, showing in foreground part of parade ground, civilian bystander, cannon, sapper and statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker kneeling with rifle on plinth, in middle ground arch and flanking obelisks and in distance trees, dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth and RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library). On rear, message from Margerie [-] to a Mrs. Lempriere, 22 Seamer Road, Scarborough, North Riding, Yorkshire, discussing her time in the area. Dated 25 February 1907 and postmarked Gillingham 26 February 1907. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. DE402/20/p.31 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Memorial Arches, Chatham comprising view of Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch and South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch looking north-west towards Brompton Barracks Square, showing in foreground RE Institute lawn and oak sapling, in middle ground rear of statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker on plinth, southern flanking obelisk, flanking cannons and South African Arch, in middle-distance parade ground, Crimean War Arch and moulding and printing rooms and in distance trees, Brompton Barracks and Square. On rear, message from Albert (Bert) Southwell, c/o G.H. Leavey and Co., High Street, Rochester to his mother Mrs. Southwell, 97 Grange Park Road, Thornton Heath, Surrey, discussing health, weather and asking for socks. Published by Knight Collection. Postmarked Chatham 28 December 1908. DE402/20/p.31 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled South African War Memorial, Gillingham comprising view of South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch and dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, looking north-east from parade ground, showing in foreground pavement, gravel verge, children, Jack Russell terrier, cannon and statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker kneeling with rifle on plinth, in middle ground arch, lawns, oak sapling and flanking obelisks and in distance trees, statue of Gordon on plinth and RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library). Published by Valentine. c.1905 x c.1921 DE402/20/p.32 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled South African Arch and Gordon Memorial, Brompton Barracks, Chatham comprising view of eastern elevation of South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch and rear of dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, looking west-north-west towards Brompton Barracks, showing in foreground drive leading to RE Institute, rear of dromedarian statue of Gordon on plinth and flower bed, in middle ground South African arch, flanking obelisks and statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker crouching with rifle on plinth and in distance part of Crimean War Arch, Brompton Barracks Square, trees and moulding and printing rooms. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. c.1905 x c.1921 DE402/20/p.32 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled South African War Memorial Arch, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham comprising view of western elevation of South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch looking south-east from point at junction of RE Institute drive and parade ground, showing in foreground part of drive and pavements, in middle ground arch and flanking obelisks, in middle-distance cannon and dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth and in distance RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library). Couchman’s accompanying notes indicate the cannon is additional to the flanking cannons. Published by Ive and Lowe, Chatham. c.1908 x c.1917 DE402/20/33 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled South African War Memorial Arch and Boer Statue, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham comprising view of view of South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch and dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, looking north-east from parade ground, showing in foreground pavement, gravel verge, civilian worker walking towards camera, cannon and statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker kneeling with rifle on plinth, in middle ground arch, flanking obelisks and lawn, in left middle-distance second cannon and bystander, in right middle-distance third cannon positioned mid-way between statue of Gordon and arch, statue of Gordon on plinth and in distance trees and RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library). W.H. Smith Kingsway Real Photo Series. c.1910 DE402/20/p.33 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled South African War Memorial, Chatham comprising view of South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch and dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, looking north-east from parade ground, showing in foreground pavement, gravel verge, children, Jack Russell terrier, cannon and statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker kneeling with rifle on plinth, in middle ground arch, lawns, oak sapling and flanking obelisks and in distance trees, statue of Gordon on plinth and RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library). Same exposure as DE402/20/p.32 (U) above. Published by Valentine, XL Series. c.1905 x c.1921 DE402/20/p.34

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Reproduction of photograph entitled Gordon Memorial, Royal Engineers’ Institute, Chatham comprising reproduction of photograph entitled Gordon Memorial, Royal Engineers’ Institute, Chatham comprising view of southern side of dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, showing in foreground drive to RE Institute and statue and plinth, in middle ground lawn, shrubs and northern end of RE Institute and in distance trees and house. Photographer or publisher G.W.W. 8” x 6” (203mm x 153mm) c.1900 DE402/20/p.35

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Old Brompton, Royal Engineers’ institute comprising view of western elevation of RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library) looking north-east from point on lawn near southern end, showing in foreground part of lawn, path and shrubbery, in right middle ground and middle distance cannon and RE Institute, in left middle distance dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth and groundsman and in distance trees. Wrench Series, printed in Saxony, Germany. c.1904 x c.1912 DE402/20/p.36 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Gordon’s Monument, New Brompton comprising view of southern side of dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, looking north-east towards northern end of RE Institute, showing in foreground statue and plinth and in middle ground left to right, trees and bushes, cannon and RE Institute. Valentine’s Series. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to unveiling of statue by HRH Edward, Prince of Wales on 19 May 1890 and design by E. Onslow Ford ARA. c.1904 x c.1912 DE402/20/p.36 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled Gordon’s Memorial, Old Brompton, Kent comprising three-quarters view of dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, looking east from RE Institute drive towards northern bay of central block of Institute, showing in foreground statue and plinth, in middle ground cannon and shrubs and in background RE Institute. On rear, message from J. [-] to F. William Gowar esq., 2 Orchard Terrace, Nursery Road, Southgate, London N., explaining he has sent him a shelf. Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. Postmarked Gillingham. c.1915 DE402/20/p.37 (left) [Mutilated]

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Gordon Memorial, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham comprising view of southern side of dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, looking north-east towards northern end of RE Institute, showing in foreground statue, plinth and flower border and in middle ground left to right, lawn, trees and bushes, cannon and RE Institute. W. Naylar, Eastgate Photo Series, Rochester. c.1904 x c.1912 DE402/20/p.37 (right)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Gordon Memorial, Chatham comprising view of southern side of dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, looking north-north-east from RE Institute drive, showing statue, plinth and flower bed in foreground and trees in distance. c.1915 DE402/20/p.38 (left)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Gordon Memorial, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham comprising view of southern side of dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, looking upwards and north-east towards northern end of RE Institute, showing in foreground statue, plinth and flower border, in middle ground left to right, lawn, trees, bushes and RE Institute and in distance house. Published by Valentine. c.1912 DE402/20/p.38 (right)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph of scene at parade ground on occasion of unveiling of memorial to sappers killed in the Great War and during one minute’s silence, looking north-east from building at south-west corner of parade ground, showing in foreground company of sappers standing at attention, in middle ground left to right HRH the Duke of Connaught and senior officers saluting memorial from edge of plinth, obelisk, Union flags at base of obelisk, four sappers standing at present arms at corners of plinth, guard of honour standing at present arms, chaplains on dais, RE Band and South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch, in middle distance left to right company of sappers standing at attention with rifles and spectators and in distance trees and northern end of RE Institute. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to building and unveiling of memorial 1921-1922. Medway Studios, 41 High Street, Gillingham. Exposed 19 July 1922 DE402/20/p.39 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers’ Great War and Crimea Memorials comprising view of parade ground looking west from RE Institute lawn, showing in foreground pavement to east of South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch, parade ground and tree, in middle ground Great War memorial, plinth and marching contingent of sappers in steel helmets and fatigues, in middle distance, left to right, detached building, old barracks hospital, Crimean War memorial arch, men’s quarters and iron railing and in distance Barracks Square and officers’ quarters and mess. c.1922 DE402/20/p.39 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers’ War Memorial, Chatham comprising view of parade ground looking west from RE Institute lawn, showing in foreground parade ground, in middle ground Great War memorial and plinth, in middle distance, left to right, barrack buildings, old barracks hospital, two sappers in Service Dress, Crimean War memorial arch, men’s quarters and iron railing in distance Barracks Square and men’s quarters. Published by Valentine. c.1922 DE402/20/p.40 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Crimean Arch Gate, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Brompton, Gillingham comprising view of parade ground looking north-west from eastern side of parade ground, showing in foreground Great War memorial and plinth, in middle ground Crimean War memorial arch and moulding and printing rooms and in distance Barracks Square, officers’ mess and men’s quarters. Published by C. Richter Ltd., London NW6. c.1930 DE402/20/p.40 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers, Chatham: The Band comprising overhead view of band members in No.1 Dress, wind instrumentalists arranged in circle and facing camera and percussionists formed up in one rank facing camera. On rear, message from Auntie C[-] to William G. Mason, Penhorn’s House, Royal Masonic School, Bushey, Hertfordshire, explaining he will be coming home to a new house. Couchman’s accompanying notes state bandmaster was Neville Flux, a civilian. Published by Gale and Polden Ltd., Portsmouth, Wellington Series. Postmarked Rochester 20 November 1906. DE402/20/p.41 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers’ Band and Square comprising view of Barracks Square and western range of barracks, showing in foreground square, in middle ground RE Band in No.1 Dress, in middle distance contingents of sappers in Home Service Dress and in distance trees, officers’ quarters and mess. On rear, message from Charles (Charlie) [-] to Miss Dolly Ditchburn, 393 Luton Road, Chatham, arranging to meet her at Chatham Town Hall on following day subject to being given a pass. SME Series [cf. School of Military Engineering?] Postmarked Chatham 26 September 1914. DE402/20/p.41 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers’ Church Parade, Brompton Barracks, Chatham comprising view of Barracks Square looking west from point inside Crimean War memorial arch towards corner of southern and western ranges of barracks, showing in middle ground RE Band in No.1 Dress, in middle distance marching contingent of sappers in Home Service Dress and in distance other ranks’ quarters and officers’ quarters and mess. On rear, message from Harold Stenson to his wife Mrs. H.A. Stenson, 1 Albert Avenue, Stapleford, Nottinghamshire, congratulating her on her 21st. birthday and explaining he is hoping to pass a test. Published by Thornton Brothers, New Brompton. Postmarked 9 September 1916. DE402/20/p.42 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers’ Crimea Arch and Church Parade, Chatham comprising view of parade ground looking north-west from position in parade ground towards northern range of Brompton Barracks, showing in foreground part of parade ground, in middle ground column of sappers in Home Service uniform marching through arch to right of camera, Crimean War memorial arch and civilian bystanders and in distance western range of Brompton Barracks (officers’ quarters and mess) and northern range (other ranks’ quarters). Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Photo Series, Rochester. c.1904 x c.1914 DE402/20/p.42 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers, Chatham: Model Room, Brompton Barracks comprising interior view of Model Room, northern wing, Brompton Barracks, showing scale models of bridges, guns and other constructions on table tops and in display cases and weapons and ethnographical objects displayed on walls. On rear, message from G. W[-] to Miss A.M. Moutrey, 21 Anns Terrace, Darlington, County Durham, discussing travel arrangements and meeting. Published by Gale and Polden Ltd., Portsmouth, Hampshire, Wellington Series. Postmarked Middlesborough, North Riding, Yorkshire 27 April 1906 DE402/20/p.43 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers, Chatham: Officers’ Mess, Annexe comprising interior longitudinal view of Classical-style room with skylights and arched partitions supported by marble Corinthian columns, showing carpet, leather armchairs, long table and bust. Published by Gale and Polden Ltd., Portsmouth, Hampshire, Wellington Series. c.1906 DE402/20/p.43 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Officers’ Mess, The Hall: Royal Engineers comprising view of entrance hall of officers’ mess looking diagonally and downwards from top of staircase leading to second storey towards corner of lower storey room or hall, showing in hall seat, carpet, notice boards, tiger skin chair, table, wooden columns supporting balustrade and opposite staircase and at second storey level hunting trophies mainly from various species of antelope and deer and wooden balustrade. On rear, message from Auntie C. [-] to William G. Mason, Penhorns House, Royal Masonic School, Bushey, Hertfordshire, discussing school, family and holiday. Couchman’s accompanying notes state the mess was built 1883-1884. A. and G. Taylor’s Reality Series, 70 Queen Victoria Street, London EC. Postmarked Chatham 15 July 1907. DE402/20/p.44

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Boer Statue, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham (twice), comprising view of right-hand bronze statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker of pair as originally situated outside Model Room (later Museum), northern wing, Brompton Barracks in 1902 but apparently situated either side of Crimean War Memorial Arch * c.1905-c.1912, prior to removal to Broome park, Barham, showing figure wearing slouch hat and bandolier, crouching with rifle on plinth and facing camera. On rear, message from Nancy (Nance) [-] to a Mrs. Martin, The Range House, Milton Ranges, Milton next Gravesend, describing journey and singing. Couchman’s accompanying notes state four Boer statues were made by F. Bruno of Rome, Italy c.1899, were presented by a Mr. S. Marks to Herbert Horatio Kitchener, Earl Kitchener of Khartoum [cf. Sudan], who then presented them to the Corps of Royal Engineers in 1902, that two were positioned in front of the Model Room (the Museum until 1986) on northern side of Barracks Square and two at Guardroom [on southern side?] of Barracks Square and that in 1905 pair from the Guardroom were moved into flanking positions at South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch. Those outside the Model Room were moved to Kitchener’s home at Broome Park, Barham in 1912 where they remained until 1921 when at General Jan Christiaan Smuts’ request all four were sent to Pretoria, Transvaal, Union of South Africa to form part of memorial to President Paul Kruger. Background mostly painted out but brickwork and creepers appear consistent with DE402/20/p.46 (U) below. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. Exposed c.1905 x c.1911. Postmarked Rochester 29 July 1911. DE402/20/p.45

[* A map of Chatham Dockyard and military establishments, based on an Ordnance Survey map, prepared by Civil Engineer in Chief’s Department, Admiralty in 1945 erroneously shows all four statues still in place. However this is helpful in confirming the situation of the two statues moved to Broome Park prior to their removal. See DE193]

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Boer Statue comprising view of left-hand bronze statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker, one of pair as originally situated outside Model Room (later Museum), northern wing, Brompton Barracks in 1902 but apparently in intermediate grassy location adjacent to Crimean War Memorial Arch *, where presumed located c.1905-c.1912, prior to removal to Broome park, Barham, showing in foreground bearded figure in slouch hat, holding percussion cap rifle, facing camera and mounted on plinth of stone blocks, in middle ground iron railing, tree and part of brick building, and in distance group of sappers in Service Dress in Barracks Square [?] Background mostly painted out but brickwork and creepers appear consistent with DE402/20/p.45 above. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. c.1905 x c.1912 DE402/20/p.46 (U)

[* A map of Chatham Dockyard and military establishments, based on an Ordnance Survey map, prepared by Civil Engineer in Chief’s Department, Admiralty in 1945 erroneously shows all four statues still in place. However this is helpful in confirming the situation of the two statues moved to Broome Park prior to their removal. See DE193]

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Copy of photograph entitled Boer General [sic] Statues, presented by Lord Kitchener, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham comprising exterior view of entrance to Model Room (later Museum), northern wing, Brompton Barracks, showing in foreground pair of bronze statues of Boer guerrillas or voortrekkers, on original stuccoed plinths and in background lamp standard, steps, group of sappers, all facing camera and one in full Slade Wallis valise equipment, colonnade and flanking bays. Exposed c.1902 x c.1905 DE402/20/p.46 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Boer Statue comprising three-quarters view of left-hand bronze statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker, of pair situated in flanking positions either side of South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch, showing in foreground sitting figure in slouch hat, supporting head on left arm, holding rifle between legs and plinth of stone blocks, in middle ground gravel, low wall and tree in memorial precinct and in distance buildings and trees. Couchman’s accompanying notes state this statue and its partner were situated outside Guardroom in Brompton Barracks prior to 1905. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. c.1905 x c.1921 DE402/20/p.47 (left)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Boer Statue comprising side view of right-hand bronze statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker, of pair situated in flanking positions either side of South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch, showing in foreground sitting, bearded figure in slouch hat, holding rifle across legs and plinth of stone blocks and painted background. Couchman’s accompanying notes state this statue and its partner were situated outside Guardroom in Brompton Barracks prior to 1905. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. c.1905 x c.1921 DE402/20/p.47 (right)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Boer Statue, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham comprising three-quarters view of right-hand bronze statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker, of pair originally situated either side of entrance to Model Room, northern wing, Brompton Barracks 1902-c.1905, adjacent to Crimean War Memorial Arch * c.1905-1912 and from 1912-1921 at Broome Park, Barham, showing crouching figure wearing slouch hat and bandolier, resting rifle on ground and facing camera and plinth of stone blocks. Couchman’s accompanying notes state the statues were shipped to Gravesend aboard SS Orotava and then conveyed to Brompton by road, individual weight of 2 tons and pertain to incorrect press report that figures represented Boer politicians. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. c.1905-c.1912 DE402/20/p.48 (left)

[* A map of Chatham Dockyard and military establishments, based on an Ordnance Survey map, prepared by Civil Engineer in Chief’s Department, Admiralty in 1945 erroneously shows all four statues still in place. However this is helpful in confirming the situation of the two statues moved to Broome Park prior to their removal. See DE193]

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Boer Statue, Royal Engineers’ Barracks, Chatham comprising side view of right-hand bronze statue of Boer guerrilla or voortrekker, of pair situated in flanking positions either side of South African (2nd. Boer War) Memorial Arch 1905-1921, originally situated at Guardroom 1902-1905, showing in foreground sitting, bearded figure in slouch hat, holding rifle across legs and plinth of stone blocks and painted background. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. c.1905-c.1921 DE402/20/p.48 (right)

Army Chatham District establishments.
Chatham Garrison.
Postcard photograph entitled Garrison Church, Chatham comprising view of west end and south side of Chatham Garrison Church, Maxwell Road, Brompton looking north-east from southern end of Maxwell Road, showing in foreground tree and in middle ground church. On rear, message from S.H. S[-] to Mrs. Mason, 57 Byron Road, Gillingham, offering her many happy returns of the day. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to predecessor garrison church 1804-1854, building of new church 1854, use by Nonconformists and re-opening of improved organ 1876. Wrench Series, printed in Saxony, Germany. Postmarked Rochester 30 May 1904. DE402/20/p.49

Army Chatham District establishments.
Chatham Garrison.
Welcome card for members of congregation bearing on front reproduction of pen and ink drawing of church and Maxwell Road and giving on rear service times, details of activities and senior chaplain’s contact details. Picture appears to be reversed. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to former chapel in northern wing of Brompton Barracks, building and opening of new church 1854-1856, stating builder to be a Mr. Thompson of Fant, stonemason to be a Mr. Assiter and plumber and glazier to be a Mr. Hyles, all of Maidstone. May 1977. DE402/20/p.50

Army Chatham District establishments.
Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph comprising group photograph of squad of sappers, showing in foreground three rows of sappers in Service Dress, each with rifle and sling and facing camera, in middle ground dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth, in right middle distance RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library) and in left distance shed and trees. On rear, message from Arthur Syrrell to his mother Mrs. Syrrell, Hinton, High Street, Farnborough, Hampshire, explaining he is in the group over and saying he has had grand weather. Couchman’s accompanying notes speculate the sappers are signallers. Postmarked Gravesend 22 July 1908. DE402/20/p.51

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Tinted postcard photograph entitled School of Electrical Engineering, Royal Engineers Gillingham, Chatham comprising view of Ravelin Building, Prince Arthur Road, Brompton, looking north from Black Lion Field, showing in foreground western part of Black Lion Field, Church Path and iron fence, in middle ground Ravelin Building, in left distance rear of RE Institute and in right distance Prince Frederick’s Bastion and part of St. Mary’s Barracks. Published by B. and D., London, Kromo Series and printed in Saxony, Germany. Couchman’s accompanying notes pertain to building and opening of School 1905-1908. c.1908 x c.1913 DE402/20/p.52 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers’ Electrical School, School of Military Engineering, Chatham comprising view of Ravelin Building, Prince Arthur Road, Brompton, looking north-east from Black Lion Field, showing in foreground western part of Black Lion Field, junction of Church Path with Prince Arthur Road, lamp standard and iron fence, in middle ground grassy area, trees and sapper in Service Dress and in distance Ravelin Building. HJD Series. c.1913 DE402/20/p.52 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham and Upnor.
Composite postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers comprising left to right and clockwise, five photographs entitled Royal Engineers’ South African Memorial Arch showing western elevation with RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library) in distance; Royal Engineers’ Bridge across the Medway showing sappers in fatigues and Royal Navy junior ratings in square rig crossing pontoon bridge over River Medway from Upnor to dockyard power station, HM Dockyard, Chatham; Royal Engineers’ Band showing band in No.1 Dress in parade ground, Brompton Barracks and moulding and printing rooms in background; Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch showing eastern elevation of arch and in distance western range of Brompton Barracks; and in centre oval entitled General Gordon showing northern side of dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth with RE Institute in background. On rear, message from Rascal No.1 to The Rascal, c/o Mrs. Brissenden, Rose and Crown Hotel, Maidstone, hoping he or she is well. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. Postmarked Chatham 20 April 1912. DE402/20/p.53 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Brompton Barracks, Upper Wood Street, Gillingham and Upnor.
Composite postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers comprising left to right and clockwise, five photographs entitled Royal Engineers’ South African Memorial Arch showing western elevation with RE Institute (subsequently Headquarters Royal School of Military Engineering (RSME) and RE Corps Library) in distance; Royal Engineers’ Bridge across the Medway showing sappers in fatigues and Royal Navy junior ratings in square rig crossing pontoon bridge over River Medway from Upnor to dockyard power station, HM Dockyard, Chatham; Royal Engineers’ Band showing band in No.1 Dress in parade ground, Brompton Barracks and moulding and printing rooms in background; Royal Engineers’ Crimean War Memorial Arch showing eastern elevation of arch and in distance western range of Brompton Barracks; and in centre oval entitled General Gordon showing northern side of dromedarian statue of Major General Charles Gordon of Khartoum [cf. Sudan] on plinth with RE Institute in background. Same exposures as DE402/20/p.53 (U) above. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Series, Rochester. c.1912. DE402/20/p.53 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Chattenden Barracks, Frindsbury Extra.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers, Chatham; Chattenden Barracks showing eastern elevation of other ranks’ eastern accommodation block, Chattenden Barracks, looking west-north-west, showing in foreground grassy area, in middle ground forebuildings and in middle distance accommodation block with three sappers in fatigues sitting on entrance steps looking at camera. Couchman’s accompanying notes state the barracks were built 1872-1873. Published by Gale and Polden Ltd., Aldershot and Portsmouth, Hampshire c.1905 DE402/20/p.54

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Chattenden Barracks, Frindsbury Extra.
Postcard photograph of informal group of sappers from 207 Party, E Company, Royal Engineers, wearing Service Dress, fatigues or Winter Warms, sitting or standing on wooden and rope bridge, all looking at camera, grassy area in foreground. On rear, message from George Lynn to his mother Mrs. Lynn, 3 Grecian Street, Maidstone, discussing leave arrangements and mentioning recent stoppage of all leave. Postmarked Chatham 12 February 1915. DE402/20/p.55 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Chattenden Barracks, Frindsbury Extra.
Postcard photograph of formal group of sappers from 30 Party, 2nd. Reserve Battalion, Royal Engineers, arranged in six rows in squash court [?], Chattenden Barracks, Frindsbury Extra, all looking towards camera, party including officer in Sam Browne belt, warrant officer, bugler and convalescent [?] After 1914. DE402/20/p.55 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Brompton Barracks, Gillingham and Upnor Pontoon Yard.
Postcard photograph entitled Pontoon Bridge Built by the Royal Engineers across the Medway comprising view of pontoon bridge extending eastwards across River Medway from Upnor Pontoon Yard, Upper Upnor, Frindsbury Extra, towards hard south of Power Station, HM Dockyard, Chatham, looking east from point slightly to south of Upnor foot of pontoon bridge, showing from left foreground to right distance contingent of Royal Marines Light Infantry marching eastwards across pontoon bridge, in right foreground and middle ground River Medway (Upnor Reach), in left foreground rowing boat and sappers in fatigues and Service Dress, in middle ground Marines contingent in Slade Wallis valise equipment and Marching Order and in distance power station. On rear, message from [-] Walton to his daughter Miss M. Walton, 23 Johnson Terrace, Usworth, County Durham, wishing her good health and advising her to see doctor. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Photo Series, Rochester. Mutilated. c.1914 DE402/20/p.56 (U)

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Brompton Barracks, Gillingham and Upnor Pontoon Yard.
Postcard photograph entitled Royal Engineers’ Trestle Bridge comprising view of trestle bridge extending eastwards across River Medway from Upnor Pontoon Yard, Upper Upnor, Frindsbury Extra, towards hard south of Power Station, HM Dockyard, Chatham, looking east from point slightly to south of Upnor foot of trestle bridge, showing in foreground jetty, middle ground informal group of sappers in Service Dress standing or sitting on bridge and looking at camera, in near distance spit of land, in middle distance River Medway (Upnor Reach) and in far distance St. Mary’s Island, Gillingham and HM Dockyard, Chatham. On rear, message from George Lynn to his mother Mrs. Lynn, 3 Grecian Street, Maidstone, asking her to prepare tea for him and his chum on Saturday afternoon. Published by W. Naylar, Eastgate Photo Series, Rochester. Postmarked Rochester 23 August 1919. DE402/20/p.56 (L)

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Brompton Barracks, Gillingham and Upnor Pontoon Yard.
Photograph comprising view of pontoon bridge extending eastwards across River Medway from Upnor Pontoon Yard, Upper Upnor, Frindsbury Extra, towards hard south of Power Station, HM Dockyard, Chatham, looking east from point inland of Upnor foot of pontoon bridge and slightly to south towards HM Dockyard, Chatham, showing in foreground Upper Upnor shore and supervisory party, in middle ground River Medway (Upnor Reach), pontoon bridge carrying contingent of Royal Marines Light Infantry eastwards towards hard south of Power Station, HM Dockyard, sappers manning bridge and attendant rowing boats and launch and in distance, left to right, St. Mary’s Island, Basin No.1, cranes, warship masts and funnels and dockyard power station. Apparently exposed on same occasion as DE402/20/p.56 (U) above. 8 ¼” x 3 ¼” (210mm x 83mm) c.1914 DE402/20/p.57

Army Chatham District establishments.
School of Military Engineering, Brompton Barracks, Gillingham and Upnor Pontoon Yard.
Cutting from Medway Extra comprising photograph of pontoon bridge extending eastwards across River Medway from hard just south of power station, HM Dockyard, Chatham towards Upnor Pontoon Yard, Upper Upnor, Frindsbury Extra, looking west from point slightly to south of Chatham foot of pontoon bridge towards Tower Hill, Frindsbury Extra, showing in foreground eastern section of bridge manned by sappers in Service Dress and fatigues, in middle ground River Medway (Upnor Reach) and contingent of Royal Marines Light Infantry on bridge marching towards camera, in near distance attendant rowing boats and launch and in distance, left to right, Upnor Pontoon Yard, Tower Hill, Upper Upnor, Upnor Castle, Royal Naval Armaments Depot, Ordnance Plantation and Beacon Hill, Frindsbury Extra. Exposed c.1914. Published week ending 1 November 1985 DE402/20/p.58

File updated by Borough Archivist 10 December 2004.

Date: c.1840-1985
Quantity: 1 binder/58pp.
Result number 15 - Please quote Reference: DE0625_Documents_various_Rochester_Local_History/DE0625_02 on request slip.

Path: Unofficial_or_Privately_Originated_Collections/ DE0625_Documents_various_Rochester_Local_History/ DE0625_02.html

Fragment of letter from Thomas Twisden Hodges, MP for Rochester to a Mrs. Fowler, Southwell, Nottinghamshire with annotation as to Reforming politics and a separate note alleging Hodges in 1855 was keeping a public house in Melbourne, New South Wales, Australia
[previously VF ROC920/HOD


Date: 1855
Quantity: 2pp
Result number 16 - Please quote Reference: Unofficial_Series_Collections/U0565_T001 on request slip.

Path: Unofficial_or_Privately_Originated_Collections/ Unofficial_Series_Collections/ U0565_Earls_of_Darnley_Cobham_Hall_1537_1974/ 02_Title_Deeds_1537_1904/ 01_Cobham_Hall_Estate_1537_1757/ U0565_T001.html


Family and estate records of the Earls of Darnley of Cobham Hall:
Title deeds

*Manors of Cobham, Westcliffe (278 acres), East and West Chalk (227 acres), Randall Manor (97 acres), Merston in Shorne, Shorne, Snave, Elham, Milton-next-Gravesend; Marden and Gravesend; Cobham Hall (360 acres), lands (2180 acres) in Westcliffe, Chalk and Frindsbury; Lord Cobham's estate in Lincolnshire, Yorkshire, Huntingdonshire Cambridgeshire, Warwickshire and Nottinghamshire [including original will of James Stuart, Earl of Richmond and Lenox, 1650; settlement previous to marriage of Charles, Duke of Lenox and Mary Herbert daughter to the Duchess of Buckingham]





Date: 1637-1661, 1679
Quantity: 30 documents
Result number 17 - Please quote Reference: Unofficial_Series_Collections/U0565_F576 on request slip.

Path: Unofficial_or_Privately_Originated_Collections/ Unofficial_Series_Collections/ U0565_Earls_of_Darnley_Cobham_Hall_1537_1974/ U565_Additional/ 04_Family/ 01_Family_Members/ 38_Letters_with_transcripts/ 06_To_John_4th_Earl_of_Darnley/ U0565_F576.html

Letters and transcripts
From Elizabeth 4th Countess of Darnley to her husband [John Bligh 4th Earl of Darnley] at Welbeck [Worksop, Nottinghamshire?]
Missing her husband, news of their children and social engagements.

Date: [1790s]
Quantity: 6 sheets
Text version | Accessibility help | Home